Outfit Post: 6/12/12

Top: Target — Capris: Ross — Wedges: 6pm.com (Sam & Libby) — Earrings: Target

Interesting Fact #1: This top is surprisingly hard to style, because of the length and drape, and the way the sleeves make it impossible to tuck into anything. I do love everything else about it, though, from the print to the shape to just how dramatic it is. I’ve actually been looking for a caftan dress in this style, but so far have had no luck, so the top will have to do for now.

Interesting Fact #2: There was a time, not so long ago, when I would have hated how dramatic this top is. I used to hate any sort of attention, and spent a lot of my time trying to be as invisible as possible. (This wasn’t hard; I was a nerdy kid and didn’t have many friends, so most of my lunch breaks at school were spent alone, reading.) Even now, attention can make my heart pound. I wore this outfit yesterday, and we had an after-work event that involved standing up and saying a little bit about ourselves–an exercise that never fails to entirely blot from my mind a) my job title and b) everything I’ve ever known about myself. Fortunately, I managed to pull it together and remember who I am and what I do, but it was a near thing.

I’ve gotten more used to being noticed, though. If I want to keep doing odd things to my hair and dressing creatively, it’s unavoidable. I’ve also discovered that, hey, I kind of like it! If other people want to tell me that I look nice, that is pretty cool, and I try not to stop them anymore. It has taken a while to figure out how to not immediately neg on myself in response to a compliment, I will admit; there’s that little voice in the back of my head telling me that I’m vain, or shallow, or self-absorbed for enjoying compliments, never mind if I actually start agreeing with them. (Although it did make me laugh when someone said I was brave for getting a buzz cut. What? Naw, man, naw.)

But, you know, that’s why it’s a work in progress. And I don’t think it’s a bad thing, being visible! I just try to remember that I’m not ashamed of myself, and that really, I do look pretty nice some of the time, even if I don’t always fit into other people’s expectations of what “nice” looks like. But then again…

…that leads us to Interesting Fact #3: At said post-work event last night, a coworker came up to me after the introduce-yourself portion of the evening and told me that, from across the room, he’d thought that my earrings were made from the hair that was so recently shaved off my head. So maybe that tells you all you need to know about what other people have come to expect from me.

11 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 6/12/12

  1. I’m starting to think that all women look stunning in a buzz cut. You, Jaunty Dame, Sinead O’Connor, the list goes on and on. You are striking, m’dear. Simply striking.

  2. Um, hold the phone. That first photo is magnificent! I love it. Also, IF#3 says more about the person who said it than about you, haha.

    Finally… enjoying compliments is natural, especially when you’ve got good self-esteem. Good on you for getting more comfortable with being noticed for your beautiful self! I used to really struggle with responding to compliments, and now it’s almost too easy! I’m like “I know, right? This skirt fits me so well!” But I hand out compliments like crazy too… it’s all about loving ourselves and each other. Kumbaya!

  3. Kate B says:

    Here to hop on the OMG-that-first-photo-is-ahMAYzing bandwagon! I literally gasped aloud. In my office. Fortunately, no one seemed to notice. But you, my dear, are such a divine diva in this outfit! I seriously looooove it.

  4. I’m partial to the second picture. Especially with my little laptop screen, you could be a statue in my grandmother’s house. (I don’t know art style terms, but my grandma has a ton of that style stuff in her house.)

  5. Your hair with those earrings is beyond gorgeous. You look amazing and I especially love that second to last photo.

    Also, I have a similar top and I was just lamenting (to myself, but out loud, so it counts) about how hard it is to style because you can’t tuck or belt. I think you styled yours perfectly though.

  6. Mia, this is fabulous defined. If you were on the East Coast or I were on the West Coast, I would give you SUCH a big squishy hug (because I like to hug adorable, beautiful people when I can)! This top is precisely the kind I love, and your earrings make your buzz look even more fabulous (if possible). I’m precisely the same when introducing myself though. “Um, I’m Erin and I do stuff?” Long silence and stares from other people.

  7. Katha Strophe says:

    I love this top on you, and I adore the earrings with your new haircut!
    You look stunning and I’m glad that you decided to not try to be invisible.

  8. rubybastille says:

    Commentspam day, apparently! Those earrings+your hair=totally awesome. Also, I came thisclose to getting that exact shirt, but then I remembered that it’s cold where I live, so all things must be layerable. Wearing a cardigan over that wouldn’t go so well. But it looks super cool and now I’m kinda wishing I had gotten it!

  9. Hi Mia – I came here via your comment on Already Pretty about earrings. I love, love, love your hair and style. You look bloody fabulous! Look forward to exploring more of your blog now I’ve found you.

    Elly

Leave a Reply

