Fashion, Books, and (Sometimes) Bikes

Outfit Post: 7/13/12

Top: Gap Outlet — Pants: Goodwill — Flats: Goodwill (Target) — Bracelet: Thrifted — Necklace and earrings: Hand-me-downs

Here’s a quiz for you guys: who has two thumbs and had no idea that orange and navy went together so well?

Well, if I’d had the foresight to take a “THIS GUY” picture on Friday, you’d all have your answer, but I guess we’ll have to think of an alternative. Steve Holt? (STEVE HOLT!)

Uhh, anyway. I tagged this post with both “work” and “weekend” because almost immediately after work on Friday I headed out to Berkeley for some weekendy funtimes! My dad was in California for some family things, and he and I wandered around Berkeley for a while, chatting and looking at stuff and being cold because neither of us had the good sense to dress appropriately.

And we saw these two rad dudes just outside the BART station, playing music! The standing guy mostly played clarinet, but occasionally, as pictured here, he put it down and ran over to the piano for some sweet duet-type action, and the audience was all “WHOAAAA” and the guys were like “we know! We rock!” and just kept jamming out. Turns out they are the John Brothers Piano Company, and while the $10 album that Dad bought from them doesn’t feature any clarinet, it’s still pretty dang awesome. So that was good!

Later Dad and I met up with my friend Tito for Thai food, and then we all three of us headed over to the California Theatre to see Beasts of the Southern Wild. Interesting tidbit: it turns out my dad went to this very same theater to see Animal House when it was first released in 1978! I don’t know why this surprised me so much, because he attended Cal and would have been living in the area at that time, but still.

By the way, Beasts of the Southern Wild is a Kick. Ass. Movie. I knew I wanted to see it from the moment I saw the trailer, and it blew me away! It blew Tito and Dad away too, I think. I’d gone into it with some reservations due to certain reviews mentioning that they thought it romanticizes poverty or is guilty of cultural tourism, but I’ve been thinking about it and I don’t agree–I think it’s a movie about people living in a hard place, making choices that aren’t necessarily the best ones, and we see the results of those choices pretty clearly. (Plus, it’s a young WOC lead in a science-fiction film and we need more of all of that!) It’s also a movie about a girl and her father, and it really resonated with both me and my dad; we’ve had some hard times, and both of us have made some bad choices, but we love each other dearly. If you can, go see it with your dad, or be prepared to call your dad up afterwards all sniffly and stuff. Seriously, see if I’m wrong:

(I will note, though, that I got pretty friggin’ motion sick about halfway through the movie and had to sit and stare at my lap and just listen to parts in order to get through it. But the fact that I felt truly awful for at least an hour and still thought it was kickass should say something, no?)

Comments on: "Outfit Post: 7/13/12" (6)

  1. Oooh I saw the trailer for that movie on Friday when I saw Moonrise Kingdom. Totally wanted to see it, and now it’s only more confirmed!

    Also you look adorbs in that getup.

  2. I’m pretty sure from the trailer that I’m going to cry like a baby if I see that movie, yo. If you don’t mind, can you explain a little bit about what made you motion sick? I don’t normally have that problem, but I’d like to be prepared.

    Also, navy and orange make sense, yo. They’re complementary! I’m digging the cut of the pants too!

    • Oh, the motion sickness came from the film’s use of shaky-cam–not quite as dramatic as it was in, say, Cloverfield or Blair Witch, but still strong enough that it triggered me. I’m super easy to trigger for nausea, though, so it doesn’t surprise me, and I don’t think I’d have as much trouble if I were watching it on a smaller screen.

  3. dizneesmurf said:

    Me! I knew orange and blue go together!! I learned it at school…orange and blue, fight, fight, orange and blue, fight, fight, who fight? we fight? orange and blue, fight, fight ~ gooooooooo Eddies. Ok…so those were our school colors and I grew up wearing them. Still do on occasion. Nothing as cool as that shirt and those pants though. You would have been a hero on Orange and Blue day during homecoming!

  4. Orange and navy! They work so well together– maximum impact for minimum effort. These complementary colors suddenly remind me of that Academichic Color Wheel of Clothes/How to Combine Colors series– have you seen it? I now have an urgent need to lay all my clothes out in a color wheel and see if any new combinations suggest themselves.

  5. Orange and navy are great! Maybe I will take my orange skirt (hmm it’s printed though) and wear my navy chevron skirt… that could work!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

