Fashion, Books, and (Sometimes) Bikes

Outfit Post: 7/21/12

Top: Marty May — Shorts: Goodwill (Express) — Sandals: Goodwill (Target) — Bangle: Thrifted — Earrings: Gift from Katie!

Hello and happy Monday, mis amigos! Did you have a good weekend? I primarily spent it cleaning and working on the house (to the dulcet tones of Steve Martin reading the audiobook of his autobiography, Born Standing Up–I quite recommend it), and also trying to catch up on other blogs, which I have been slacking off on SO BADLY lately. I’m sorry, you guys!

Commenting on a ton of blog posts at once brings to mind the same little gem that I start thinking about each time I fall back and have to catch up: commenting strategies! I wonder sometimes about other people’s commenting strategies and how much they differ from my own, which are admittedly not very strategic.

So you can see what I mean, here’s a tutorial for how to comment like Mia in three easy steps:

1) Fall behind on commenting so that you have to spend a couple hours playing catch-up and commenting on all the blogs you follow and love.

2) Have a crisis about whether to comment on every post every person makes, even if you can’t think of anything to say besides “cute top!”, or to leave longer, more in-depth comments on only some of their posts.

3) Put off commenting because you can’t decide and thinking about it becomes exhausting. Rinse and repeat ad infinitum.

And it’s so silly, right? It’s silly! And yet I drag myself into the mental argument every time. I certainly don’t mean to be down on shorter, simpler comments–because commenting frequently, even if the comments are brief, is a great way of being supportive of friends and fellow bloggers, and I see other bloggers do this to great effect. But (as you may have noticed), I have a really hard time being brief, and it feels more authentically me to say something more in a comment, to bring a personal anecdote or silly joke to the table, even if that means commenting takes more work and doesn’t happen as frequently.

Either way, though–short, frequent comments or longer, irregular comments–step 3 ain’t a great way to go. Procrastination is one of my many natural talents, so fighting it is always a struggle. But I’ll keep forging ahead, so expect to keep seeing comments from me! Once in a while, anyway.

Comments on: "Outfit Post: 7/21/12" (6)

  1. Oooh this all brown ensemb is just lovely! Adorable t-shirt.

    My commenting policy is totally wacky and all over the place. Sometimes I stop in for a quick “OMG I LOVE YOUR OUTFIT” fly by comment, and other times I wanna get more in depth/am feeling funny/creative. I probably do fewer deep/funny/articulate comments and more of the former, but ya know. Whatever works, man!

  2. I gotta admit, if I ever get behind, there is just a point where I say “FUCK ALL THE COMMENTING” and just clear my cache and start commenting again. Mostly because I start to stress out if I see all those posts as obligations to comment, rather than opportunities to say nice things to my friends.

    Your Buffalo shirt makes me think of Pushing Daisies/Wonderfalls (Muffin Buffalo) which reminds me to tell you that LEE PACE IS IN THE HOBBIT.

    I HAVE TO SEE IT NOW MIA. LEE PACE AND MARTIN FREEMAN.

    • You hit the nail on the head: it starts feeling like an obligation. And I don’t want to start resenting blogfriends! I definitely slash and burn sometimes when I can’t keep up, which sometimes leads to blogs being culled from google reader if I just find myself skipping over them altogether when going through.

      OMG I know, right? He’s not just in it, he is THE ELF KING. ELF KING LEE PACE, I cannot handle it. I wonder if he’s going to have a terrible accent…

      • AND THERE WAS THAT TERRIFYING MOMENT (okay, dropping caps, but STILL YELLING) where rumor hinted that David Tennant was going to be the Elvenking. Lee Pace looks like a much better choice– at least I won’t be seeing the eleventh Doctor all throughout Mirkwood.

  3. Oh Mia, don’t worry about commenting on every post! I hardly ever get to do that for anyone, and if people post four or more times/week then definitely not or I’ll have a backup of posts a year long and none of the new posts will ever get comments.

    I don’t know if it makes my commenting more effective, but I use Bloglovin and separate blogs by category– personal style, editorial, home, food, etc.

  4. I have yet to develop a good commenting strategy, man. My commenting-frequency is hindered by my not wanting to appear a total fool by saying generic things OR by being so nonsensically unique that it’s off-putting.

    Perfectionism often makes me give up and not try at all, which is stupid– in an ideal world, maybe I would realize that this blog-commenting business would be about being kind to others, not shoring up one’s own ego. But that’s difficult to remember.

    On that note, I am so enamored of your Buffalo shirt AND OH GOD the Etsy seller makes a dinosaur tanktop. There goes my fun money.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

