Fashion, Books, and (Sometimes) Bikes

Outfit Post: 7/25/12

Top: Gift (Cell) — Skirt: Gift (deep los angeles) — Belt: Thrifted — Wedges: 6pm.com (Sam & Libby) — Ring: Monterey Bay Aquarium — Earrings: Gift from Costa Rica

I wish I could say that this outfit was inspired by the Brazilian flag, but that would be a lie. No, it was sheer coincidence, although a nice one, seeing as how I took Brazilian Portuguese classes during my junior and senior years of college and gained a great interest in visiting Brazil someday.

I’ve actually never been anywhere in South America, which is something I’d like to reconcile within the next few years, or whenever time allows. For now, though, I’ll have to be satisfied with more domestic travel. As a matter of fact, I’m writing this post quickly before I hop in the car and drive off to the Bay Area; some college friends and I are getting together at Tito’s house this weekend for pizza-making and general buffoonery, and I’m looking forward to it with great pleasure.

I’m also embarking upon a slightly larger trip on Tuesday: I’m traveling to Minneapolis for work! That will be a first for me, since I’ve never been to Minnesota at all (although my paternal grandfather was from there), and although I’ll be spending most of my time at a conference, I’m pretty dang excited. Erin just so happens to be attending the same conference–the world is frighteningly small sometimes–so we’ll get to spend some quality time learning about the exciting world of research together, and I also have an ice-cream get-together in the works with at least one Hairpin commenter. I haven’t met an online friend face-to-face since I was 19, so it’s gonna be some good times, yessir.

Tia has also commanded recommended that I take a trip to Uncommon Grounds for an Orgasmic Chai, and with a name like that, how can I refuse?

Anybody else around here familiar with Minneapolis? Any travel tips or food recs? While I’ve gone to a number of anime and comics conventions for fun, this will be my first-ever professional conference, so it’ll be quite a learning experience all-around.

Continuing the almost-forgotten theme from earlier, this is one of the hand-carved, hand-painted earrings I wore with this outfit. They were a gift that my mom brought back for me from Costa Rica (okay, so that’s Central America, not South America–not trying to homogenize the two, here!) when she went last year, and every picture I take of them just doesn’t quite capture how gorgeous they are. Seriously, they make my heart hurt a little every time I look at them, and they’re one of the prettiest things I own. Sigh…

Okay, before I get completely mesmerized by my own belongings, happy Friday, guys! I’ll try to schedule some posts over the weekend so stuff’s still going up here while I’m in Minneapolis next week, but if there’s a little bit of radio silence, don’t be alarmed. I know all y’all’s days revolve around this blog, but try to be brave, for all our sakes.

Tchau!

Comments on: "Outfit Post: 7/25/12" (8)

  1. Trying to dissect why these colors are so perfect together. Maybe because it’s such a Death to Neutrals Combination, maybe because there is some color wheel alchemy… however it’s accomplished, it works, lady! That belt + skirt + ring that looks like a ripe olive = swooning.

    “…since I’ve never been to Minnesota at all…”

    AND I’VE NEVER BEEEEEN TO BOSTON IN THE FALL. *crickets* *soul-crushing embarrassment* *slinking away*

    • Oh, I’ve never plucked a rooster and I am not too good at ping-pong
      And I’ve never thrown my mashed potatoes up against the wall
      And I’ve never kissed a chipmunk, and I’ve never gotten head lice
      And I have never been to Boston in the fall

      No embarrassment needed. It’s been years since I’ve seen VeggieTales and I still find myself singing “And so what we have learned applies to our lives today…” fairly regularly.

  2. Pretty skirt ~ great color. In fact, great color combination in this outfit. I wouldn’t have thought to put all those colors together. The necklace is pretty and those little earrings are really cute ~ it’s nice that they are a gift from your Mom as well.
    I might need to add some more color in my life. Just 2 days ago, one of my students, who is 6, and had a silver sequined skirt with bright pink top on as an outfit, asked why I always wore the same shirt. I looked down, confused, and told her I just have a lot of navy blue shirts and they aren’t all the same. She said, “Oh.” and went back to playing her song, but she’s right, I do wear the same clothes…a lot…that’ why I like tuning in to see what you and Tia are wearing. I live vicariously through your outfits ;)

  3. I didn’t realize this skirt had a lace overlay until the close-up: it’s so lovely. Also, the colors here are just fabulous. Kelly green, yellow and blue are such good friends.

    I hope your trip is uneventful but also fun! Let me know if you get to make your pilgrimage to Uncommon Grounds. :D

  4. rubybastille said:

    Could you quit being so gorgeous all the time, kthx.

  5. Those colors are amazing together! Wonderfully amazing.

  6. This skirt is super pretty! I need a yellow belt. Can you believe I don’t have a yellow belt? that’s positively blasphemy in blog-land, haha. I’ve never been to South America or Minneapolis, but I’d say you definitely need to get that chai!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

