Fashion, Books, and (Sometimes) Bikes

This jacket was another thing I got in Gracey and my mini-swap, and I still haven’t quite hit on how to style it best yet. Although, I’ve finally gathered the things up to send her, I just need to make it to the post office to ship them off to her. :) The week so far has been really stressful though, and that’s a big reason why I have yet to make it to the post office.

On Monday I had an interview for an internship that I thought went really well. But yesterday I got an email that promptly showed me that I was wrong about that. No positions for me. So I’ve been dealing with that disappointment, and not very well. It’s hard when all of your intuition is that things went your way, and that is shown to be incorrect.

But that’s life. I have to keep going, keep trying, and keep putting myself out there if I want to succeed, even if rejection is difficult to face. I have to believe that my education and my skills will be exactly what someone else needs some day. I have to keep working to be the best candidate possible.

So what about you? What was the last thing that disappointed you? How did you cope with it?

Comments on: "Outfit Post and Dealing with Disappointment" (4)

  1. First, let me say that you’re not getting that internship is their loss, not yours. Clearly they don’t know what they’re doing and you’re better off not working with ninnies like that.

    Second, you absolutely nailed the styling of that jacket; it’s beyond perfect with that skirt. I’m so happy it worked out for you.

    Now, on to your question. The last thing that disappointed me was being told that my fall from my bike resulted in a broken arm and that I can’t ride for at least 4 weeks. How did I cope? I cried. It upset me and I’m not going to pretend it didn’t. I’m still upset, but I’ve stopped crying and am now just trying to make the best of it. I’ll let you know how that goes. ;-)

  2. rubybastille said:

    Sorry about your internship. :( I got waitlisted twice trying to get into my dream grad school program, and after the second time, I had to make the choice whether to keep trying or move on with my life. I chose move on, and it sucked for a while, because I was sure that that grad-school/career path was great for me, but I’ve found other things to do with my life that have probably turned out just as well, or better: doing social media for my church, writing more, etc.

    But yeah, it definitely sucked for a while. I felt worthless and unneeded and not good enough, and it took me a while to get back into a mindset of being loved and needed, just in different ways. In the meantime I had to accept that I was going to feel kinda crappy about myself for a while, and that’s just the nature of disappointment. It needs to be felt and accepted, and not forced away with thoughts of “I should be over this” or “why am I still feeling bad about this.” It might suck for a while! And that’s okay! Because you know what you need to do to get where you want to be, and you’re already working on getting there. And you will.
    <3

  3. Becky Shelley said:

    What great support you have from friends! I’m sorry you didn’t get the internship ,but I am sure something wonderful is coming your way. You have been blessed in so many ways this year. Revel in those things for the time being. Don’t let this disappointment take away all the awesomeness that is you and all you have done this year! I know it sucks not to get what you want. But dwelling on it won’t change the results. Learn from it and chalk it up as an experience. Glean as much as you can from it. Its all you can do. and I have to agree with Gracey I think you rocked that outfit ! Hugs!

  4. Becky Shelley said:

    oh and I have yet to deal with my last disappointment. It’s My first Christmas without you! ;-(

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

