Outfit Post: 1/28/12

Tunic: Goodwill — Leggings: Target — Camisole: Old Navy — Shoes: Thrifted (Born) — Necklace: Thrifted — Bracelet: Goodwill — Earrings: Lia Sophia

Weekend time meant time to bust out the wrap tunic I just thrifted! Next time I think I will tie it in the front.

The cool and snarky Erin, who has a sweet new book blog, tagged me (and Tia! and Tia!) to answer some basic reading questions! You-all know how I can’t resist a good meme.

  • Favorite poet(s)?

A. A. Milne (it’s legit!)…I must confess that I’m not much of a poetry reader, and any poets I may have enjoyed in the past have flown right out of my head. BRB going to go bone up on my poetry. (More like BRB going to go ask Mary, co-blogger at Nisaba Be Praised and poetry buff, who to read.)

  • Least favorite/hated poet(s)?

See above.

  • Favorite fiction author(s)?

Kage Baker, Neil Gaiman, Samuel Delany, Tamora Pierce, Shannon Hale, Richard Adams, Russell Hoban, James Herriot, Diana Wynne Jones, Mark Haddon, Holly Black, Monica Furlong.

  • Least favorite/hated fiction author(s)?

Hate is always a strong word, but…Paolo Bachigalupi, if only for The Wind-Up Girl. Urgh. I don’t often finish books I hate, or read more by authors who wrote a book I hate. So hated authors are not particularly on my mind at any time.

  • Favorite non-fiction author(s)?

Oliver Sacks, Anne Fadiman, David Sedaris (memoirs count, right?), and I’ll add Mary Roach because what I’ve read so far of Stiff is fantastic.

  • Least favorite/hated non-fiction author(s)?

I don’t think I can name anyone specifically. Anybody who makes nonfiction dull and dry when it doesn’t have to be!

  • Favorite graphic novel author(s)?

Erika Moen, Lucy Knisley, Emily Carroll, Kate Beaton, Yayoi Ogawa, Chris Onstad, Marguerite Abouet, Kaoru Mori, Naoki Urasawa, Marjane Satrapi, Ai Yazawa. (I’m including some comickers in there who haven’t had a graphic novel published per se, but who are utterly fab and deserve recognition.)

  • Least favorite/hated graphic novel author(s)?

Dave Sim. (I admit that I have not read any Cerebus and base my judgements purely on what I’ve read about him. That’s enough for me.)

  • Worst reading habits? (I don’t think any reading can be termed as a “guilty pleasure”)

I’m definitely a book hoarder–they pile up on the shelf and in the Kindle, and stay there for years unread.  (Well, I haven’t had the Kindle for a year yet, but you know what I mean.) I also have a bad habit of having my library books go overdue, but I never feel too broken-up about that because at least that buck-twenty-five or whatever is going towards the library.

  • Worst book you ever read?

Ever? Jeez. I think I’ve made my hatred of Ethan Frome pretty well known, although I have been asked to recant on that one. Oh! I know! Rain, by V.C. Andrews. (Well, “by” V.C. Andrews.) Full of overly-detailed descriptions of furniture and people doing unlikely things with their faces.

  • Favorite book (at the moment at least)?

One of the best books I’ve read recently was, as I’ve gone on and on about, The Life of the World to Come, by Kage Baker. I also just started The Remedy, by Michelle Lovric, on the rec of my friend Leah, and am really liking it so far. Some long-standing favorites are Riddley Walker, by Russell Hoban, Watership Down, by Richard Adams, and All Creatures Great and Small, by James Herriot.

  • Favorite genre?

Sci-fi, fantasy, any mingling of the two. I do like some quote-unquote lit-fic, which are usually just books that don’t fit into another category. YA and middle grade. Books about everyday life, small things.

Yay! I can read!

Happy Friday, and happy birthday to my mumsey! I don’t have a whole lot on my plate this weekend other than cleaning and continuing my Pinterest rampage of liking anything involving Sherlock. Seriously, it’s starting to feel like a sickness. Send help. (Or just come over and watch the first series with me again.)

7 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 1/28/12

  1. Yay, you can read! I share many of your opinions. I’m rubbish about poetry: I actually used Shel Silverstein for my fill of the meme. 😛

    I really dig this tunic. I sort of wish the wrap straps were a different color so it would have a built in belt but you know how I feel about belts.

    ALSO YOU’RE OUTDOORS! MIA! THE SUNLIGHT! I’m jealous, even though it’s not -that- cold here.

    • Mia says:

      I appreciate you too! The only other person I know who enjoys them (and the TV show) is my mom, and there’s only so many times she and I can rehash how great Tristan is, so it’s nice to have someone else in the mix.

      • Erin says:

        I love James Herriot as well! When your dad majored in animal science, and is in the equine consultant field, they come with the house.

  2. rubybastille says:

    You hated “Wind-Up Girl?” I didn’t particularly enjoy it, but I didn’t hate it.

    I’m going to have to set aside a few hours to revisit Pinterest if you have an entire Sherlock board going. Mmm, Sherlock.

    • Mia says:

      It’s been a while (we picked it up for book club sometime last year), but there was something about the whole sex-robot thing that didn’t sit well with me, and it just grated and grated until I nearly threw it at the wall and ended up as a DNF.

      I’ve just been pinning Sherlock stuff to my general celebrities board (AKA “I’m a Stah”), but at the rate I’ve been going it may become its own board. Lawdy, I feel grateful to the fandom for all the pics, gifs, and screencaps that are out there, haha.

Leave a Reply

