Liebster Blog Award

I’ve been remiss in not mentioning this before now–Allison of World as Home gave Reading in Skirts the Liebster Blog Award! Thanks, Allison! (The money will be under the big rock.) I’m still easily-confused by this whole blog-award thing, but I’m very flattered anytime someone wants to award me with anything: blog awards, cheap trophies, free food. Any of it! I’m pretty easy to please. I’m new to Allison’s blog, but her travels make for really interesting reading, and I appreciate her perspective, as someone who’s actually there, on what’s been going on in Greece.

Anyhoodle, let’s get down to tass bracks.

The purpose of this award is to recognize new blogs with fewer than 200 followers which deserve more blog love!  So I am very happy to pass the torch to five blogs that are new (or receive less traffic than they deserve).

The Liebster Blog Award Rules:

1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog
2. Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you
3. Copy and paste the blog award on your blog
4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 5 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed
5. Let them know they have been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog

I dunno about the “200 followers” thing–I used to keep track of that on Google Reader, but now that they’ve changed Reader around I’m not sure how to check that sorta thing. (I am A Terrible Blogger.) But I’ll just link to five folks who are cool and who deserve a signal boost. ‘Kay? ‘Kay.

Smile Texy Smile: I’ve been following D for a while on her other blog, Smacking Down the Apathy, but she just started Smile Texy Smile as a style-specific blog and I’m glad she did! D’s one cool chick; she does roller derby and cooks tasty things and all that cool stuff. (Did I say she’s cool yet? Cool cool cool.)

Hey, Fat Chick!: Okay, so Hey, Fat Chick! seems really popular, but whatever. Fat women being visible and dressing awesomely is never not the greatest, and HFC! does a great job of Tumbl’ing a wide variety of ladies who ID as fat and who rock it.

His Black Dress: This blog recently got a signal boost from Sal at Already Pretty, and it super deserves it. Michael Spookshow is an awesome dude who wears skirts and dresses as well as men’s fashion, and is a wonderful advocate of fashion freedom for all genders. Plus, he looks great doing it!

Bookish Book Fish: Said bookfish has been a good acquaintance (is that a silly combination of words?) on LiveJournal for a while now, and I was jazzed when she posted that she’d started a book-related Tumblr. I already know that she talks about books smartly, and one of her first reviews on the new blog makes me want to hie myself to the library and get me a copy.

Aelia Reads: I’m embarrassed for myself if I haven’t linked to Aelia Reads before now; the proprietress is a real-life friend of both Tia’s and mine (and a co-bridesmaid for the wedding!). She and Tia and I had a Skype-based book club for a good portion of last year before things dissolved into confusion and Real Life, but maybe (someday, far in the distant future) we’ll be able to pick things up again. I really like her review structure, and she writes thoughtfully and clearly. As a muddled feelings-vomiter when it comes to book reviews, I appreciate that in another blogger!

And…um…how ’bout them Hyperbole and a Half, I’m sure nobody’s ever heard of that one.

(I may or may not eschew the fifth step out of laziness and forgetfulness, and because the semi-compulsory air of memes bugs me sometimes. On the other hand, maybe I should let some of these folks know that I think they’re cool.)

4 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. D says:

    I am flattered, thank you for including me! You are awesome, and I can’t wait to get home and check out the rest of these blogs!

Leave a Reply

