Moon Called

Oh. God. Guys. Mia loaned me Moon Called  by Patricia Briggs and I devouuured this book. I am slowly beginning to understand that urban fantasy is a genre written for me. I think Moon Called has a lot to offer people who have a little more sense than I do.  (Which is to say, those who don’t enjoy trashy books for their trashiness.)

Mercedes Thompson, or Mercy, is our narrator. First off, I like Mercy. If she was a real person, and we met, I’d totally crush on her. She’s a car mechanic with a history degree(instead of an engineering degree that she started to pursue but then dropped in the name of her passion). Throughout the book, Mercy makes decisions based on both intuition and logic, and both are treated with equal respect, something that is often lost in other books. Mercy is also able to shape shift into a coyote because she’s a walker, a Native American shapeshifter.

The story follows Mercy dealing with Adam, the Alpha of the local werewolf pack. I really don’t want to say too much about the plot, because really, the plot is one of the strongest parts of this book. From the beginning to the ending, it’s just wonderfully paced and really intense. I had a hard time putting the book down at all.

As far as my regular warnings: Moon Called passes the Bechedel test just barely, if I recall correctly. Mercy rarely encounters other women, and when she does, it’s typically within the context of men, since women rarely become werewolves and the plot follows the wolves very closely. But I’m pretty sure there are a few lady-lady convos that don’t focus on men. I think. As far as fat characters…I don’t think there are any? I’m not sure. There certainly aren’t the sort of insults that push me out of books, but neither is there the sort of fat-positive character that I seek.

I’m probably going to read the rest of these books as soon as I can.

4 thoughts on “Moon Called

  1. I should give this book another try. I tried to read it about a year ago, and just couldn’t really get into it. If I recall correctly, I was reading Moon Called right on the heels of devouring pretty much all of Charles de Lint’s urban fantasies. To my mind, de Lint is an absolutely brilliant urban fantasy novelist — the Godfather of urban fantasy, if you will — which I think did a grave disservice to Moon Called. Perhaps a fresh eye is what’s required. You’ve inspired me to give it another try! =)

  2. GoldfishGirl says:

    I must confess that I picked this up on your recommendation while I was nannying and ended up reading the whole damned series. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

