30 for 30: 2012 Wrap Up

So I don’t have access to the photoshops right now, so I’m going to have to do my wrap-up post differently from last year. No tons and tons of tiny Tia’s! Instead, I’m just going to pick a few super star outfits and complain again about SHOES.

The MVP of my 30 for 30 was definitely this dress:

I wore it four different ways: with leggings, tied up like this, with the back and front tied up, and as a straight dress. This sucker was a constant source of inspiration, and I’m really sad that it’s fraying a bit at the top of the bust line.  Sad!

Outfit that made me feel super pretty:

This dress is just full of wonder for me still. And pairing it with the colorful scarf compensated for the fact that it’s not as fitted through the torso as I’d prefer.

Least favorite outfit is probably this one:

There’s something about the idea of a blazer and a wrap skirt that doesn’t work quite right here. I probably won’t combine these like this again.

I added another pair of shoes from my last 30 for 30 and still wanted more. I don’t know that it’s possible to do this challenge and get enough different shoes in it for me. I really prefer to have aaaall my shoe choices available to me. While limiting my closet seems to give birth to creativity, limiting my footwear options seems to frustrate me endlessly. I don’t even know y’all.

I think I probably won’t do another summery 30 for 30. I’d like to try and do some other challenges at some point, but for now, I think I’ll be happy to explore my closet. Which is probably good considering the amount of post-wedding brokeness I am experiencing.

3 thoughts on “30 for 30: 2012 Wrap Up

  1. Kate B says:

    Just saw another site doing a 30 for 30, but they decided not to include shoes, and when I saw that, it was like a lightbulb going off above my head. I could NEVER manage a 30×30 if I had to include shoes, so this idea makes me much more interested in participating. Let me see if I can’t find the link… here we go: http://www.diyfatshion.com/2012/05/drumroll-please.html

    Anyway, love that hankie-hem MVP! It was gorgeous each of the ways you wore it! Plus, I’m gonna say any 30×30 where your least successful outfit is as cute as the wrap skirt/blazer combo is a damn good 30×30!

  2. Mia says:

    I never really liked handkerchief-hem skirts before (I don’t know why! I guess I just make snap decisions about things?) but I am 100% in love with yours and considering where to get one of my own. Also that teal dress. You with the dresses! What the heck, Tiar.

    P.S. You inspire me to do more creative things with my own sarongs, even if they are a bit smaller than yours. They WILL get some wear this summer!

Leave a Reply

