Outfit Post: 6/19/12

Blouse: Goodwill — Skirt: Goodwill (H&M) — Sandals: Goodwill (Aerosole) — Tie: ASOS — Earrings: Gift — Bracelet: Hand-me-down

Well met, fellow humans! How was your solstice yesterday? Do anything exciting to mark the first day of summer and/or the longest day of the year?

I did! Well, if by “something exciting” you mean “watch Michael play Shadow of the Colossus and eat a chicken burger.” Yeah, I know you’re all jealous of my good times. Shadow of the Colossus is a great spectator game, though–the visuals and soundtrack are so great. I mean, I’m sure it’s a great player game too, but I have a long and storied history of video-game spectating, so that’s where I’m coming from.

Mike gives me crap sometimes for not picking up the controller and playing more myself, but what can I say? I’m pretty particular about the games I like to play versus the ones I just want to watch. Games with a lot of real-time fighting make me anxious; you should have seen the way I panicked the first time I tried Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. (Which, incidentally, is another great spectator game.) And stuff with timers are no good either, like the copy of Sonic the Hedgehog 2 that my brother and I had for the Sega Genesis growing up. Too much pressure! I know it sounds silly when I say it like that, but I like playing video games to relax and have fun, not to feel stressed out.

Really, my general preference is for party-style games, like Mario Kart 64, and for puzzle games, like the Professor Layton series. I also played sim games a lot as a kid–basically anything by Maxis–and for old-school adventure games, like my all-time favorite computer game, LOOM. Stuff that you can take time to think about! (Although I’m not a terribly good strategist, so I suspect I would be awful at Disgaea.) And, of course, I’ve told you all about my deep, abiding love for Japanese dating sims, particularly Hatoful Boyfriend.

That’s all to say that just because I don’t like to play some games doesn’t mean that I can’t enjoy them in another way. I watched my brother and friends play a wide variety of games all through childhood and high school, and I’ve become very accustomed to enjoying games for their filmic qualities. This is especially true as graphics have gotten better and plotlines have gotten more detailed, like with the intentionally-cinematic game Heavy Rain. (I’m super excited to see what Quantic Dream comes out with next, I tell you what.)

Anyway: video games! They were a huge part of my summers as a kid, so they always come to mind when this time of year rolls around. Which is not to say that I didn’t spend any time outdoors when I was younger; I have vivid memories of going outside at nine or ten o’ clock at night and just enjoying the quiet warmth and stillness of our empty neighborhood.

Those nights remind me of a little ditty about summer, actually…

Then again, any song that rhymes “neato” with “breakfast burrito” makes me nostalgic, you know?

7 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 6/19/12

  1. Finally remembering to comment! I love this color combination, and I think I own that same pair of sandals in a snakeskin print. They’re super comfy, right?

  2. For what it’s worth, while I think it’s fine for you to prefer watching video games, you can get better/more uncomfortable with the more action-y stuff. Like, you should have seen me the first time I played Mass Effect. I got like two minutes into the actual gameplay and freaked out. But eventually I picked it up again (after playing a few more games in between) and loved it. So I think that’s just a skill like anything else. But to reiterate, if you don’t want to get better at that particular skill, well, I’m not bothered one way or another. (Just like I don’t care whether or not you get better at calligraphy or bird watching or car mechanic-ing.)

  3. D says:

    Video games! I LOVE video games! I played them quite a bit as a kid (I can kick some serious ass in Super Mario World, and I wasn’t bad at Tekken either…not to mention my generations of sim families), and I still play them when I get the chance now (skyrim and soul calibur…so much fun). I totally understand the loving to watch video games too, there are some games that I have little interest in playing that Husby plays, and I can sit there for HOURS watching him. Heavy rain was a good one for that.

    Also I love your blouse! Cute!

  4. I have a game suggestion for you! It’s short, but I had a deeply meaningful connection anyway. Definitely play it in two-player mode, because the connection is with the other person you’re playing with. http://www.makeourway.com/ Do it do it do it. I believe in you. I’m also a video game spectator for horror games. I get waaaay too freaked out by zombies and things. For instance, I never ever beat the t-rex in Tomb Raider because it was SCARY. >_>

    THAT TINY TIE. THAT TINY TIE WILL SLAY ME FOREVER.

  5. I think we share a love the same the genre of video games. Anything non-action packed/doesn’t include guns is good in my book. I love racing games, am OBSESSED with Sims 2, and have been known to play some Wii sports (there not as bad as the real thing and I’m actually kind of good at them. lol)
    I grew up with older siblings, and they were always like video game gods to me. I loved watching them play and win! I didn’t care if I got to play or not, watching them was good enough for me.

    On a non video game related note – your use of colors and pattern mixing in this outfit rule! It kind of has a vintage feel to it and makes me think of like a black & white photo come to life. All the people in old photographs could have been wearing neon for all we know!

  6. Happy blogiversary! Sorry I haven’t been around much– my friend’s impending nuptials have made things a bit busy. Can’t believe I’m about to be a bridesmaid. This outfit is awesome! Please mix patterns like this more often, especially the polka dots.

Leave a Reply

