Outfit Post: 6/27/12

This has been the summer of sporadic blog posting for me. Every time I get in the habit of taking pictures, my internet dies or I end up travelling or I sweat through outfits before taking pictures(ew). I think I’ve gotten myself in the habit of morning pictures again, so hopefully, things will abound!

This skirt has been a trouble piece. My mom made it for me back in winter, and I’ve had the roughest time styling it. The only things I have in navy are two t-shirts, and neither the pink nor the green in this skirt make an appearance in my wardrobe. Summer makes the whole t-shirt thing feel more appropriate, but still, it’s such a cute pattern, I want to get more use out of it.

I mean seriously, this geometric pattern is so many adorbs, but the colors! I can’t even really wear it with white, because I know myself and rarely buy white because I can’t keep a white shirt clean to save my life.

How do y’all deal with near-closet-orphans that you can’t bare to part with, but also can’t spare the cash to add a bunch of pieces to your wardrobe? Any suggestions for other colors that I could rock with this skirt that my matchy-matchy brain is unable to come up with?

7 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 6/27/12

  1. Mia says:

    Oh, that skirt! It’s kind of…art deco or something? It makes me think of Mucha. I think you could wear it with a different shade of green or pink, or a lighter blue or yellow and make it a pastel masterpiece! Or, umm…teal, teal would look nice! I think this skirt is more flexible than you first suspected.

  2. I love the pattern! And echo Mia’s suggestions. My first thought was yellow! but any shade of pink or green or blue would work too and be a bit more matchy matchy 🙂

  3. I definitely agree with Mia, especially about going darker on the pink and green! Plus her suggestion of teal, esp if it’s on the bluish side, OR – a suggestion of my very own – I think a blue-y purple could also be lovely.

  4. dizneesmurf says:

    That skirt is really cute! My first thought was yellow too. Maybe you could find a cute little blue polo while thrifting. That would look nice with it I would think.

  5. Becky Shelley says:

    you might try finding a navy blank tshirt at Michaels and painting wit pink and green circles or wait patiently for a pink tshirt to show up and decorate it or leave it blank and use jewelry to spice it up!

  6. Becky Shelley says:

    or borrow Braden’s shirt from the wedding and tie it over a white tank or cami or tshirt it may be close enough!

    • That could be cute, though I don’t actually have white camis for the whole I am Tia, see me fail at eating and ruin yet another article of white clothing reason. I know there’s a video out there with a bunch of different ways to wear men’s button fronts for girls, though the girl demoing has tiny boobs so I’m not sure how well it will work for me, but it’s worth a shot!

Leave a Reply

