Outfit Post: 10/23/12

Dress and owl pin: Blacklist Vintage — Belt and boots: Thrifted — Tights: Spanx — Ring and earrings: Target

Ahh, this dress, how I’ve been waiting to wear this dress!

I found it on my vintage run during my trip to Minneapolis back in August, and since then I’ve just been sitting on my hands, waiting for the weather to be cold enough to bust it out. According to the tag, it’s from the 1950s, and is basically the cutest semi-sheer long-sleeved brown shirtdress I could ever hope to own. (Does it count as a shirtdress? I can’t remember if it’s supposed to have buttons all the way down or what in order to qualify–correct me in the comments if you know.)

Between yesterday and today, it’s beginning to feel a little bit like Dressopotamia around here, albeit without any of the wacky prints or 60s/70s silhouettes one tends to associate with Dressopotamia. But hey, dresses!

Speaking of yesterday, you may have noticed that I employed a similar color scheme for both Monday and Tuesday of last week. It was pretty much coincidental at first, but when I noticed the similarities, I decided to go ahead and declare it Neutrals Week over here at Mia’s little half of Reading in Skirts! I figured it would be a good challenge, since I find all-neutrals outfits more difficult than loud and colorful ones.

Of course, I still needed a few blips of color in the form of a chunky ring, some gigantor earrings, and Eulalie the owl pin, who you may remember from our last Tia and Mia Take a Look and Do It Together challenge.

When I asked him after getting dressed in the morning, Mike was of the opinion that my outfit was a little too on-the-nose and looked costumey, which may be true with the dark tights and ankle boots. How would you style this dress to bring some more modern elements in?

3 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 10/23/12

  1. I don’t think it’s too costumey at all, but then I do like monochrome neutral looks. A lot. So I think it’s pretty darned stunning, but you could re-mix it with a bright colored skinny belt and colorful tights in a pattern. The dress has a great neckline and would look good with some heavier layered necklaces as well.

  2. I love this look and I didn’t think costume at all when I saw it. But, if you’re concerned, bring in some more color and I agree with Lynne (as always) about some heavier jewelry too.

    Also, I think this is a shirtdress, but if someone corrects you, please let me know too.

    Finally, I nominated both you and Tia for a blog award today.

  3. Hey girl! Would have commented earlier, but we were 63 hours (I counted) without power. Love this piece! I don’t understand how it is “on the nose”–more like “on target” or “on fire,” I would say.

Leave a Reply

