Outfit Post: 12/6/12

20121206-IMG_7292

Button-front: Goodwill — Skirt, belt, and necklace: Thrifted — Tights: Target — Flats: American Rag Co. — Earrings: The Wood Merchant — Ring: Gift

20121206-IMG_7295

This outfit is a bit Christmassy, isn’t it? It was largely unintentional; I was just low in my tights selection and olive seemed like a better choice than hot pink chevrons. (Although I’m sure that outfit will be coming someday too.)

20121206-IMG_7297

Michael is kind of a Scrooge (read: he worked at a grocery store in his youth and, as such, can no longer tolerate Christmas music), so we don’t go super hog-wild in our house with the decorations or Christmas cheer. This year I did buy a small pine wreath from Trader Joe’s and decorate it with the single ornament in my possession, gifted to me just a week and a half ago by my mom. Festive!

20121206-IMG_7298

I will admit that most Christmas music does get tiresome after a while–I was in the pet store a couple of weeks ago and the schmaltziest, most maudlin country-esque song came on about a poor kid who was trying to buy his dying mother shoes so she would look pretty for Jesus, yadda yadda. I may have mentioned it already, but it bears repeating. Oh my word, it was terrible. But also hilarious, because I am of the generation that looks at something and thinks, “My god, that’s ugly. I must have it.” So what’re you gonna do? There are, however, a few Christmas-related things I will never tire of:

How about you? Christmas music: terrible? a delight? or something in between? What novelty songs (or regular non-novelty songs) must you have when the holiday rolls around? Or, if you don’t celebrate Christmas, an alternate question: how do you feel about soy products?

6 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 12/6/12

  1. D says:

    Oh goodness, I am something of a Scrooge too. I used to work in a jewelry store where I listened to Christmas tunes for something like 3 straight months. I especially dislike that bitter “last Christmas, I gave you my heart, the very next day you gave it away…” song. It gives me rage. But there are a few carols I actually do like- especially if I get to sing along!

  2. T.R.S. and I just bought our Christmas tree tonight, so it’s about to get festive! So far we have three ornaments (I had to leave all mine behind): a ptarmigan, a rubber duck, and a squid. And nothing says Christmas like a squid!

    As for Christmas music? My dad was a military musician for 30 years, so I’ve been to approximately 23,744 holiday concerts. Give or take 12 (drummers drumming). My Christmas jams are “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas” and “Sleigh Ride,” instrumental of course.

    Fun fact: my dad’s on one of the recordings of “Sleigh Ride” that gets played all the time each year. And unrelated fact: I’m hatching a scheme to go and see Eddie Izzard in Amsterdam this spring.

  3. This is hilarious because as soon as you started talking about horrible Xmas music, I thought of this email I got from my husband yesterday:

    I just went to the grocery store and heard “Christmas Shoes” in its entirety. If I had a bottle of cyanide capsules on me, I would have dumped the whole thing down my gullet.

    He then had to explain it to me, because I was blissfully unaware…

  4. Hello hello! What a lovely skirt. You definitely look a bit festive.

    Sorry I haven’t been around much lately. Early December is a terribly busy season for PR people. Things are calming down though, which means I get to catch up on Reading in Skirts soon!

  5. I am a Scrooge too. I don’t like how Christmas co-opts my favorite liturgical season in the church year, Advent. That season is about preparation for the coming of the Kingdom of God. Of course, what exactly that means for people varies based on their particular interpretation of Christianity, but I think it would also be good for some sort of secular Advent to become a thing. This is the season when days are getting shorter and shorter, which affects my mood and makes me more subdued and introverted, if not downright glum. A time to turn inward and prepare ourselves for a new year, a few weeks to reflect on the past and make plans for the future, that is my ideal way to spend the beginning of December. To me, the relentlessly outgoing cheer of Christmas is not who I am or how I feel at this time of year. Anyway, Christmas wears me out every year in December, and I am a total Scrooge, although I do enjoy sitting around the tree opening presents on Christmas morning with my family when I am at my parents’ house. I’m glad I’ve never worked anywhere where Christmas music plays nonstop for a month. That would break me.

Leave a Reply

