Outfit Post: 2/15/13

20130215-IMG_8431

Dress: eShakti — Leggings: Target — Boots: Woman Within — Belt: Thrifted — Bracelet: ABC Store — Earrings: The Wood Merchant

20130215-IMG_8432

I forgot to mention it yesterday, but in case your observational skills are on the fritz, I dyed my hair! The purple was getting faded and messy-looking so I just went over it with some black box dye from the drugstore, and I like the results.

20130215-IMG_8433

I’m having a bit of a mental dilemma about how to proceed with my hair from here on out, honestly. I’ve enjoyed the funky colors–you know I have–but now that we’re living in a nice new house with a nice new bathtub, I feel a bit leery about staining that tub pink or purple and taking away from the nice-newness of it. Additionally, I know all the bleach and dye I go through isn’t super-great for the environment, so I’ve just been feeling…complicatedly about the matter.

20130215-IMG_8434

It also feels kind of weird when people get really invested in this sort of thing as a part of your persona. I think Tia has mentioned this before, and it’s a pretty nebulous feeling to try and talk about, but I feel odd when it seems like I can’t stand on my own merits if brightly-colored hair is the only thing that makes me stand out.

20130215-IMG_8435

I just don’t know, folks. What do you think? Tell me about your experiences with hair dye, if you have any!

11 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 2/15/13

  1. D says:

    I understand feeling complicated about hair dye and whatnot. I used to bleach and dye my hair pink and green, and I do miss it sometimes. It is fun, and it stands out, and it made me feel girly in a “I actually have a sort of a beauty ritual” way. I really liked it. But it got me some weird looks from my peers (I do work in a fairly conservative industry) before I stopped dying my hair, which almost made me feel like they respected me less even though I was good at what I was hired to do. And I do feel badly about all of the chemicals that are thrown into our water supply on any given day, and it does feel nice to not add to that mess.

    Either way, I am quite sure that you do indeed stand on your own merits with or without hair dye!

    …and also, I love your outfit.

  2. Love the dress and your hair!

    I started getting weird about hair dye a few years ago. My hair was fried, but I wanted something Bright and Different. I started hearing more and more about henna on the net, especially as a ‘healer’ of fried hair. So I’m pretty much a converted dyer. Body Art Quality (BAQ) henna is a natural product that still gives me bright hair and gives me the dye process I like. Buying in bulk means I pay about as much as a mid-range box dye ($6-8) per process. Though maybe less now since my hair is a lot shorter. I haven’t dyed since buzzing it.

    But anyway, there are other natural options – cassia, indigo, alma, henna. They’re not as radical results that box dyes will give you, but it’s an option for those of us dye-hards who miss the chemicals.

    Check out mehandi.com for more info! Or you could use manic panic/Special FX dye over your natural color for darker unnatural colors.

  3. I used to dye my hair funky colors all the time. Most often I was hot pink, but I also did bright red, kelly green, superman blue, lavender, royal purple. The blue was cool, because it faded to a really great silver, and I would love to have silver hair. I stopped dying it mostly because I wanted to see my natural hair with all the grey coming in. I’d like to do it again, and I’m sure no one in my office would mind. It was also easy to point me out in a group, and it was kinda weird not being “the girl with the pink hair” for a while. People get over things quickly, though, so after a couple “Is that your real color?!” comments, everything was cool again.

  4. I love this outfit! I’m also worried that you need a sweater. But that’s because I’m currently freezing. As for the hair dying… I’ve never done the bright colors you and Tia have sported, however I have been brunette, redhead, and now blonde. What I notice is when I get my roots touched up or straighten my hair after wearing it curly for many weeks, people love to comment on it. And it makes me uncomfortable! I’m like… this is nothing new people. Carry on. Just tell me my hair looks great not like “oh! Chelsea! your hair is so different!” It’s not really I swear! You just weren’t paying attention before.

    I realize this is a really odd thing to be irked by. But I am, nonetheless.

    Is it Friday yet?

    • Mia says:

      Yeah, it’s been cold this week, but last Friday it was almost 70 degrees here! So sleevelessness was quite nice, actually. Today, not so much. We’re aaaalllllmost there…

  5. Erin says:

    I dyed my hair auburn for roughly a decade. I quit about 5 years ago, because I just got tired of the upkeep and of having to buy 2 boxes of dye for my thick hair. Also, I was happy with the silver-white hairs I had coming in. I’ve used henna before, too, and my sister loves it. You could always try it! Just leave it in for a loooong time to get vivid results.

  6. Your muted purple hair looks really neat; interesting, but subtle.

    I’ve been wanting to do something new and exciting with my hair— I’m still growing it out, so maybe a color change would tide me through this “must have a change!” phase. But I’m afraid of damaging my hair too dramatically, and I’m afraid of screwing up horribly… and yes, environmental issues spring to mind. I keep thinking about you and Tia, your hair adventures. It’s nice to hear what’s on your mind.

    Indigo, though… there’s a thought….

  7. I really like this dress ~ it looks really pretty on you! Short sleeve weather in February? How enviable!
    I lightened my hair with the “sun-in” sprays for many years. I was a frustrated blond stuck in a brunette shell. I did come back from Africa and Australia with blond-ish hair which really confused people, but I loved it while it lasted. My hair didn’t care for it though and was really dry. After I got back to my normal brown, and I got a little older, I covered my greys coming in with a over the counter boxed, root touch up dye. I haven’t touched up the greys for a few months now, and I have come to the conclusion I don’t want to spend any more time on my hair. Several people have told me they don’t notice the grey (I think they are secretly blind as bats, or just being nice) so I am going with what I’ve got. I do like to live vicariously through you and Tia though…so whatever you decide, it’s all good 😉

  8. ckaren09 says:

    I think you have a lot more going for you than a bright do. Coloring hair is a pain in the arse, and if you no longer want to do it, STOP! Your personality, not to mention your clothing choices, will ensure that you continue to stand out.

  9. Pretty dress and cute belt. Hair is so important to women, and I have so little experience with it, that it’s be irresponsible for me to comment on the issue. You should probably do whatever feels right for you, and that might change over time.

  10. GoldfishGirl says:

    I dye my hair with henna because I really enjoy the bright, vibrant orange-red it gives me. I’m naturally a strawberry blonde, but feel much better as a redhead. If you want to give natural dye a try, go for it. If you don’t, that’s okay too.

Leave a Reply

