Outfit Post: 4/9/13

20130409-IMG_8852

Button-Front: Van Heusen Outlet — Skirt: One Mango Tree — Oxfords: Payless — Belt: Thrifted — Bracelet: ABC Store — Earrings: Gift

20130409-IMG_8854

I’m having a little bit of an existential crisis, blog-wise. (Blogsistential crisis? No.)

20130409-IMG_8855

I try not to talk about these feelings on here because hey, I mostly want to keep this blog a fun diversion for myself and others! Also, I don’t want readers to think I’m fishing for compliments or support. But still, I go through cycles of concern that I’m not offering anything new or interesting to the internet, that I’m just another white, straight-sized, middle-class ciswoman takin’ up space.

20130409-IMG_8856

All that, in addition to the hiatus of this blog’s real purpose–having a hobby together with Tia to stay close even when we’re far apart–since Tia’s been too busy being a grad student and all, well, it makes me ponder.

20130409-IMG_8857

I enjoy blogging, but is that enough? I’m probably just being overblown about the whole thing, though, since it’s not like this little blog is a superstar of the internet or anything. And I’m not about to go anywhere, but it’s just something that’s been on my mind lately. For now, I can’t do anything but be Mia, so that’s what I’ll do.

P.S. I almost forgot, because I am a dork, that today is the last day to enter my DAMN GIRL THAT STYLE IS FAT giveaway! Go enter by 11:59PM (PST) if you’re interested! After this, you’ll never have to hear about it again, so that’s something!

11 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 4/9/13

  1. Jen says:

    Well, I for one visit your blog every single day to see the new and interesting ways you’ve put some clothing together, and to enjoy your wry sense of humor. So there’s that. And also (wait, did I just say “and” twice there?) in my admittedly limited knowledge of the internet the space is pretty much infinite, right? I mean, it’s not like the internet is going to fill up some day and that’s it. I guess. Blargh. What I’m TRYING to say is, take up all the cyberspace you want to!
    I really like today’s outfit, but I’d be terrified to wear it. Haven’t quite conquered my fear of pattern-mixing yet.

  2. D says:

    I think if you enjoy blogging, that is enough of a reason. Own your internet space! I know that I enjoy reading your blog, and your sense of style!

  3. Tyrian says:

    I hate to break it to you, but…you actually have a rather unique/different look (for a white, straight-sized, middle-class ciswoman, as you put it). I’m following your blog because unlike most of the other bloggers I’ve seen, you have very short hair (like me!), you’re not a size-0 hourglass (like me!), you wear glasses (like me!) and you mix very feminine pieces with more androgynous style (like me!). That’s pretty darned interesting in my book.

    It’s also awesome that you’re aware of your status and privilege, about which many fashion bloggers seem oblivious. You think critically about what you’re doing, and it comes through in your posts.

    Besides, the internet is a pretty big place – as long as you’re enjoying yourself, there’s room in the blogosphere for everyone!

  4. ashley says:

    Just start adding interesting facts or thoughts that challenge and disrupt gender, ethnic, cultural, etc. norms. For example, at the top of each post write something like, “is Jon Hamm upset by the media’s attention to his package because his physical body is being commodified like a woman?”

  5. There’s not really any “space” to worry about on the Internet, yeah? I mean, you’re not taking SOMEONE ELSE’S GIGABYTES. Also I think you happen to be white, middle-class, straight-size, cis and simultaneously SUPER INTERESTING.

  6. Echoing everyone else. You have a very unique look. I do wish you’d include MORE about your feelings. I come to people’s blogs not only for their fashion, but for their stories too. I like people’s stories. It’s why I follow blogs. Fashion is the thing that gets me in, but the person is what makes me stay.

    I think do what YOU enjoy with this blog. If that means posting pictures of yourself, talking about body image, or something completely unrelated to fashion – it’s all cool. But if you’re enjoying it, someone else is bound to enjoy it too. When blogging becomes a chore or job, you can feel the difference from when they’re enjoying it.

    I know for me, you give me a ton of inspiration. To rock my short hair, to wear stuff that I like, not what society says is “right” – how to enjoy unique shapes and colors and prints and all together.

  7. Becky Shelley says:

    you obviously have found a niche that others adore and if you have the time and the inclination and even though Tia is being a party pooper, blah blah blah grad school you know its really because she’s dancing her butt off, and if that photographer husband was any kind of husband he’d be posting pictures of her here so we could all comment on her outfits even if she doesn’t have time to. Cause you know he’s taking pictures of her he’s just not sharing! but who am I just her mother and her personal seamstress who would like to see pictures of her in my creations. But I digress , love you, love your blog ,Love my daughter, love her hubby. Would miss seeing your smiling face every day in my inbox! Hugs!

  8. ladychalice says:

    Dummy, we love you! Unless you want/need a break, post. I personally visit your blog every day because I find you hella interesting and neat.

  9. Listen, I’ve been having a blogistential crisis for like ten years now (okay, that is a blatant lie, but whatever (I’m known in real life for my use understatement and overstatement, but never just… statement?)). That’s why I’ve been scarce around the internet this spring. And potentially last fall, as well. I’m really actually still feeling derailed from Sandy… I need to get it together.

    Right. So.

    It’s okay to share your crisis thoughts. I think many bloggers do! I definitely do, although not every crisis… because that’s probably all the damn blog would be about. Having crises about blogging.

    In fact, I don’t even know if I like being photographed any more. I used to love taking outfit photos. All the time. But… I don’t any more, although that might have something to do with the lack of Brooklyn Bridge Park in my life. Manhattan looks best from the other side of the river. But… yeah. That’s why you see food on my blog now. And whatever.

    I’d actually love to write about some of the things you and Tia write about here. I don’t feel like I can get it all out as well as you guys do though, so I don’t. Write about whatever you feel like. At least you’ll know that I like it!

Leave a Reply

