Sunshine Award Redux

Aw, you guys. I honestly wasn’t trawling for reassurances yesterday with my blog-related existential crisis, but thanks for all your funny and thoughtful comments. Y’all make me so happy I could just transform into a sphere of hot magma interwoven with magnetic fields. Relatedly, the charming and delightful Laura presented me and Tia with the Sunshine Award the other day! What a happy coincidence, now that I have a surface temperature of approximately 5505 °C!

Rules for the Sunshine Award:

  • If you are nominated you must include the link in a blog, linking to the person/blog that nominated you.
  • You must answer some questions and nominate 10 fellow bloggers and link their blogs in your post. Let the people you have nominated know that you have nominated them!

1. Who is your favourite philosopher?

Lil B. What if animals are dead humans?

2. What is your favourite number?

I was going to say i just to be a smart aleck, but I don’t actually know if I have one! I used to like 13 a lot, but I feel like the strong affinities I had for certain numbers sort of drifted away after I graduated from high school and stopped taking math courses.

3. What is your favourite animal?

I have many, because I was an animal geek as a kid, but two favorites are the spotted hyena and the Honduran white bat:

White_bat_Ectophylla_alba_11

source

(Also any and all giraffes, but duh.)

4. What are your Facebook and Twitter URLs?

Well, I don’t Face the Book, but I do Twit the Tweet.

5. What is your favourite time of day?

Any time where I wake up in the morning, look at the clock, realize it’s a weekend, and get to snuggle back down under the warm covers forever and ever. Dinnertime is also good.

6. What was your favourite vacation?

Oh man, I’ve had a few of these. Our first trip to see Tia and Braden in Chicago in, what, 2010? holds a special place in my heart because it was the last big trip I took with Jessica where we all got to spend time together. Also good was when Mom and I went to Germany and Switzerland, because of the dump trucks.

7. What is your favourite physical activity?

I can easily say biking, because it’s pretty much my only non-loathed physical activity. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to ride much lately because the tube in my back tire needs to be replaced…

8. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?

As some of you may know, I don’t drink, so all of my drinks are non-alcoholic drinks! This is a toughie, though. For tastiness, I might have to go with Thai iced tea; for frequency of consumption, Trader Joe’s peach juice? And for a hot beverage, I’m particularly fond of rooibos, especially the fruity ones.

9. What is your favourite flower?

Wisteria flowers are beautiful, even though from what I’ve read they’re kind of invasive and terrible. (Why do I like all the invasive and terrible things? I can’t quit you, eucalyptus.)

wisteria in bloom 009

source

Also good are star jasmine, because the smell makes me think of childhood summers.

10. What is your passion?

I don’t know if I have one overriding passion in my life! I have small passions–good food, good sleep, good books, good friends–that all sort of converge on just being happy and enjoying life. I like making people laugh. I like using words in interesting ways and telling stories that feel true, although I’ve done pitifully little of that recently. I want to improve myself and my understanding of the world so that as I travel through it, physically and metaphorically, I don’t (consciously or not) use my privilege to oppress others. Vague enough for you guys? Eh?

Sunshine Award Nominations (in no particular order)

Oh, I dunno. I don’t like assigning these things to people because it feels chain-letter-y. If you want to, do it! If you don’t, don’t! You’re all the sunshine of this blog, and you know I like you.

P.S. Also, I totally lied about yesterday being the last day of the giveaway. I have apparently become unmoored in space and time. Anyway, enter by 11:59PM (PST) tonight and you could win! Winner announced tomorrow, and there will be much rejoicing.

One thought on “Sunshine Award Redux

  1. ladychalice says:

    Wisteria IS the devil. It’s all over our backyard, with roots and branches roughly the width of my forearm.

Leave a Reply

