Outfit Post: 4/24/13 (Plus Bobby Socklings Review)

20130424-IMG_9496

Top and heels: Swapped — Camisole: Goodwill — Skirt: Blacklist Vintage — Socks: Sock Dreams (Bobby Socklings in Moss) — Ring: Target — Earrings: Vendor on campus

20130424-IMG_9497

Did I hear someone say it’s been a while since we had a product review here on Reading in Skirts? Well no, I probably didn’t, but let’s pretend I did for the sake of the segue.

20130424-IMG_9498

So, you guys might have noticed that Tia and I like socks. It’s true! During the cooler months I’ve been learning to let my sock wings fly with thigh-highs and OTKs, but I also love-love-love how cute ankle and midcalf socks can be when worn intentionally. Socks and heels, socks and flats, socks and heels again. I love it.

20130424-IMG_9500

But the main problem with me trying to do this is that all my socks bite! I have thicker ankles and calves (I don’t have an ankle measurement at the moment, but the thickest part of my calves is around 16″), and the cuff of most normal crew socks will dig-dig-dig into my ankle, and it looks weird and feels worse. Sometimes I fold the elastic cuff under, which fixes the weird look but not the discomfort. Recently, I turned to Sock Dreams and got a couple pairs of socks with a wider cuff and a more relaxed fit to see if I, too, could properly know the joy of intentional sock usage.

And lo! It turns out I love them. “Them” being Bobby Socklings, a shorter version of the regular midcalf Sockling. They’re soft and bright, and the cuff is just about everything I could hope for. They do slouch a little when I walk because they’re not clamped aggressively to my leg, but I’m 100% a-okay with that, especially since it’s just a minor, gentle slouch.

20130424-IMG_9504

Also, a cool thing? I emailed Sock Dreams to ask if they had any other comfortable-cuff socks, and they totally wrote back! With suggestions and everything! B. gave a few recommendations like the B.ella Bastia Comfort Top Crew (which I want in Wisteria, like, yesterday) and any of EG Smith’s ECO brand socks, such as the Scalloped Top Crew, which are a bit of a chunkier texture. She also recommended the B.ella Meg Unconstricted Top Crew–I actually got a pair in pink along with my Bobby Socklings, but I haven’t had a chance to wear them yet.

20130424-IMG_9509

She also suggested some plush, fuzzy socks in the form of the B.ella Alpine Merino Mousse Crew and Nouvella Space Dyed Terry Shorties, if you like something cushy. On the pricier side of things, we have the Easy Does It Relaxed Fit Striped Midcalf and Plush Relaxed Fit Midcalf, both from Sockwell. I don’t know if my budget is quite ready for $20+ midcalf socks, but they’re probably a decent investment if you can manage it!

And, I mean, even $8 per pair seems like kind of a lot when you’re used to $9 for a three-pack at Target, but I’m honestly pretty happy to work $8 socks into my budget if it means I’m not coming home with a cuff ring around my poor ankles at the end of the day. When the weather starts to cool down again, you better believe I’m going to be ordering myself most (if not all) of the Bobby Sockling colors in both regular and heather.

[I was not contacted by any company to review the products mentioned here, and I did not receive any compensation for reviewing them. All opinions stated are my own. I just want to help other thick-legged folks find socks that work for them!]

11 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 4/24/13 (Plus Bobby Socklings Review)

  1. GoldfishGirl says:

    You look super cute. I’m glad to hear about socks for thicker legged ladies, I’ve taken to knitting my own to get the fit I like.

  2. Eee! Green sockies! Most people tend to side-eye my $8 socks, but I always try to grab an extra pair of two off sockdreams when I have money floating in my paypal account. I like knowing my socks come from safe practices and out of quality materials when I can help it.

  3. Hi there! We tweeted a link to your post on twitter today, but I was wondering if I may have permission to upload two of your photos in a tumblr post that will link here? Text links don’t get as much attention as photos with links included, and we’d really love to show off your feet!

    Cheers!
    ♥Zaffie

  4. abby S says:

    I love your socks and shoe combo. I know you got the shoes from a swap is that an online swap and do you know the brand of the shoes?

    • Mia says:

      Hi Abby! I should have specified in the post, boo on me–they’re Naturalizers, I believe, although I’ll double-check when I get home.

      The swap was an in-person swap! I was visiting my co-blogger Tia in Chicago and one of her friends graciously agreed to host a swap, so everybody showed up with armfuls of gently-used clothing and accessories and we all had drinks and chatted and tried things on, and it was awesome! These particular shoes are a pair that one of Tia’s friends bought and wore for her wedding, so it was really sweet of her to let them go.

Leave a Reply

