Outfit Post: 4/26/13

20130426-IMG_9523

Button-front: Van Heusen Outlet — Pants and sandals: Goodwill — Bracelet, earrings, and necklace: Gifts

20130426-IMG_9524

If you follow me on Twitter at all or read Nisaba Be Praised, you might have noticed an explosion of activity this weekend. A book-related explosion. Yes, kids, it was the Read-a-thon.

20130426-IMG_9525

As is tradition, my dear friend Tito and I got together to spend roughly 24 hours reading books, chatting, and participating in online book community stuff. Some people do the Read-a-thon for charity, which is really great, but we just do it for fun, and because we really like not getting any sleep over the weekend.

20130426-IMG_9527

I say “roughly” 24 hours because a) the start time for the US West Coast is 5am, which, blech, and b) I usually fall asleep at least a few hours before the end. This year I got closer than ever, though, because Tito and I were hosting a mini-challenge and we got stuck with a 1am-4am time slot to run it! I think we’re going to try to get a better time slot in October and run the same challenge again, because we only got 14 entries but some of them had me crying with laughter.

All in all it was a pretty successful Read-a-thon, although I think I actually read less than most previous ‘thons thanks to my newfound Twitter addiction (the only full-length book I finished was Megan Whalen Turner’s The Thief, which is a fantastic non-Northern-Europe-setting fantasy YA, for the record). We’ll see how well the October ‘thon goes, since it’s happening the same weekend as the 2013 Alternative Press Expo in San Francisco–I may have to bug out for a few hours to go buy lots of indie comics.

20130426-IMG_9535

On an unrelated note, an internet friend sent me the tiniest skull necklace in the world and I can’t handle it.

20130426-IMG_9532

TINY SKULL NECKLACE. It’s the size of some of my larger freckles! I love you, tiny skull necklace. Never leave me.

4 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 4/26/13

  1. D says:

    TINY SKULL! That necklace is awesome. Read a thon sounds fun, I’ll have to try that out sometime. I’ve been doing a lot of reading since the move since I am unemployed, and I have a whole stack of books to go! I love that feeling.

  2. rubybastille says:

    It was so nice here I didn’t even want to be inside reading! If we’d planned better, we probably could have set up some kind of backyard-tent deal, but we weren’t even sure we were participating until Friday afternoon.

    I’m seriously looking forward to the October one, though. I’m not sure I’m up for doing 24 hours of anything (unless it was for a charity), but having the excuse to wrap up in a gajillion blankets with books and pots of tea, while it’s rainy and gross out, sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

