Outfit Post: 12/2/13

20131202-IMG_1079

Top and skirt: Thrifted — Leggings: Carouselink — Boots: Macy’s — Earrings: Gift from Katie!

20131202-IMG_1080

I ended up taking a sick day off work yesterday, but that didn’t stop me from putting together a (soft, comfy, forgiving) Literary Stylings outfit!

20131202-IMG_1081

A good portion of my sick day was spent finishing Newt’s Emerald, Garth Nix’s recently-published fantasy regency romance. I’ve been a big fan of his ever since I read his Old Kingdom books, and I found out about Newt’s Emerald via the cover artist, Kali Ciesemier. I was super tickled to learn that Garth Nix is a regency fan and bought the book (still fairly cheap on Amazon) with gusto.

Newt’s Emerald is a short book, almost more of a novella, and it’s also a pretty light, quick read. The pacing skips along and felt a little rushed in parts–particularly the denouement–but there’s still a fair amount of Nixian detail that helped me become quite fond of our impetuous, sometimes-bratty heroine Truthful. I wasn’t quite as charmed by the ostensible love interest, but Truthful (called “Newt” by her cousins) and her formidable great-aunt rank up there with Garth Nix’s other well-formed female characters like Sabriel, Lirael, and–yes–the Disreputable Dog. Although I would have loved for portions of the book to have been more fleshed out, like the system of magic, the whole Napoleon thing, and Newt’s relationship with her other family members, it was largely fun and delightful, and renewed my excitement over the impending publication of his next Old Kingdom book, Clariel, in 2014.

20131202-IMG_1084

In honor of Truthful, I wore a reddish shirt for her reddish hair, green earrings and tights for her green eyes (and for the titular emerald), boots for her masquerade as a man, and a skirt for her dressier, girlier moments (and to cover my be-legging’d butt). Comfortable, stretchy, and perfect for evading pirates, capturing a villain, or investigating a theft. Possibly not for attending a ball, though. I’d have to change for that.

Anyhow, go check out Gracey’s Literary Stylings outfit, as well as the other linked-up entries! What have you been reading recently?

5 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 12/2/13

  1. My first words upon seeing those leggings: oh, awesome! 🙂 Trees on leggings! You do find the most amazing pieces.

    I haven’t had time to do much reading lately, but I’d better hop to it. Our book club selection for January is a rather lengthy tome and I haven’t even checked to see if our tiny library has it in stock!

Leave a Reply

