Outfit Post: 1/13/14

20140113-IMG_1236

Dress: eShakti — Cardigan and OTKs: Target — Flats: Thrifted (Born) — Slip: Amazon — Earrings: Gift from Katie!

20140113-IMG_1237

New hair! And new dress! So exciting!

This is actually the last new piece of clothing I bought for myself at the end of 2013; I’ve been gaining interest in the chambray trend, and thought this dress would be a really cute and versatile staple for my no-shopping-in-2014 wardrobe. Which, speaking of that…

20140113-IMG_1238

I’ll admit, I borrowed the idea from Lynne. She mentioned back in December that she was considering doing a yearlong shopping ban for 2014, and it got me thinking. (Lynne is really a wonderful person and if you’re not reading her blog, I highly recommend it–she’s been very generously keeping us all updated on her Teen’s recovery from a stem cell transplant for Sickle Cell Disease, and you should totally donate toward her medical expenses fund if you can!)

20140113-IMG_1239

I certainly don’t want to horn in on her ban, but it just made sense to me. My closet is full, I have lots of great clothing for remixing, and saving some money would be a really good idea. I’m giving myself some leeway for undergarments, of course, and to buy some neat accessories or easy-to-pack garments when my mom and I take a trip to Austria several months from now, because I’d love to have some wearable mementos from the experience. Overall, though, taking the time I use to idly browse (online or in thrift stores) and putting it towards some of my other interests (drawing, writing, mail correspondence) would be great! And seriously, with the extensive wardrobe I’ve accrued–and dare I say curated?–over the last couple years, I probably won’t miss it a bit.

I certainly don’t think there’s anything wrong with shopping, and I encourage you all to do what works for you, of course. Shopping is fun, and having new garments that fit well and delight you can be a wonderful self-esteem booster! This is just what works for me, here and now, and I want to see what a year of no clothes shopping brings.

5 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 1/13/14

  1. Your hair is beautiful! What an absolutely gorgeous color! And I love your dress too. I’ve been thinking about buying a chambray dress from eShakti but still haven’t pulled the trigger. I’m cutting down (not banning) on my shopping too though so I don’t know that I will get one, but I do love it!

  2. Oooo…I love the new hair color! And the chambray dress, too. Best wishes as you embark on a year of no clothes shopping. I still have a ways to go before my closet contains only clothes that fit and/or work well together.

  3. I’ve replaced a lot of my online “window shopping” (which leads to actual shopping) with writing. It’s been an excellent supplement that has both gained me a stronger friendship with my writing buddy and honed a skill that I have long wished to work on!

    Also j’adore your hair.

  4. I find the idea of a year long shopping ban so interesting, although I can’t see myself doing it at this time. I tend to purchase few things and am already so short on tops that I’d probably be wearing pajamas half the time!

  5. The pink cardi/tights and your hair look amazing together! I love it. I’m definitely intrigued by the no-shopping goal for the year. I don’t think I could do it. I had a girlfriend who decided to buy one item per month, to try to focus on a small number of things she really like, which seemed a pretty nice goal, too. I *do* want to do a closet cleanout because I have so much that I don’t wear. I get way too attached to things, though, even if I never wear ’em.

Leave a Reply

