Outfit Post: 2/23/14

20140223-IMG_1454

Dress and jacket: Thrifted — Boots: eBay (Steve Madden Troopas) — Socks: Sock Dreams (Heather Socklings in Plum) — Earrings: Target

20140223-IMG_1456

I think I’ve mentioned that I’ll be going to Austria in a couple months with my mom, but we recently had an exciting development regarding the trip!

20140223-IMG_1457

Well, exciting for certain definitions of the word. See, part of our plan for the visit was to go to the region where my mom’s grandma–my great-grandma–was born in the 1880s; we knew she’d come to the US from Steiermark (aka Styria), but none of our living relatives knew which town.

20140223-IMG_1458

I got a copy of her birth certificate from my uncle, and ended up asking a couple of German professors at my workplace for their help in deciphering it–my German is so-so, but it was written in that Olde Tymey script that makes my eyes go crossy.

20140223-IMG_1459

As it turns out, we’ll have to make a side-trip, because while the town she was born in was part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire at the time, it’s now in Slovenia! We’ve got some research to do, because what Mom and I know about Slovenia could fit in a thimble. Even so, it’s pretty neat to know where your family comes from! I know tracing ancestry is harder for some folks than others due to name changes, lost paperwork, and institutionalized racism, so I feel very fortunate to have been able to get this far.

Do you have any interest in genealogy?

6 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 2/23/14

  1. rubybastille says:

    That’s super cool! My grandfather and my husband’s aunt are really into genealogy, and it’s been interesting to see what they’ve uncovered. My grandfather has investigate my maternal German side pretty thoroughly, and husband’s aunt mapped their Norwegian family back something like eight or ten generations. She has offered to do something similar for me and my family but I keep forgetting to take her up on it!

    I took a multiculturalism class in college and we talked about “whiteness” and white cultural identity for a bit, mainly in that white American identity doesn’t usually associate with a particular country. One guy had no idea whatsoever about his heritage, so somebody in the class looked up his last name, and he found out he was Czech. I’ll never forget the look on his face when he realized he had a connection like that.

  2. I work with a man who is SUPER into genealogy, and is back tens of generations into his family tree. Whereas my family, when I ask my dad, he says we’re “poor dirt farmers” and leaves it at that and my mom has no interest. Of course, I have no real interest in actually doing the work either.

  3. That’s amazing! My maternal side of the family can trace their way all the way back through Spencers. I imagine my father’s family can through McKenzies. My mom’s father goes back to Native Americans where his family was one tribe married into another, married into English families.

    I’m unsure about my Dad’s Mom, but we don’t get along anyway.

    Genealogy is a fascinating subject. And around here in the south, especially in the “old south”, it’s one of the first things people talk about. Most elderly people want to know ‘who your people are’. They like it when they can make connections between families, especially if so-and-so lived down the road or something. It’s the only bit of history I tend to like!

  4. That’s really special that you’ll get to see the place where your great-grandma was born! And how blessed you are to be able to make the journey with your mom. I have a moderate interest in my own family history, much of which happened within two hours of where I live. One of my female relatives (a great-great aunt, I believe) wrote a book about her pioneering life. I’ve tried to read it, but it was hand-written so the reading is rough going.

  5. Neat! I find genealogy interesting, but a bit overwhelming. My Aunt has the complete work done on my Father’s side of the family but won’t share. I’m hoping her children will share someday…
    Love your dress ~ such a pretty print!

Leave a Reply

