Third Annual Blog Anniversary Giveaway Extravaganza!

Oh my god, you guys. Three years? Nahhhh. I mean, time is a meaningless social construct anyway, so it definitely hasn’t been three years since Tia and I started this blog. Let’s just have a get-together commemorating the Battle of Seven Oaks, instead.

No? Oh, fine. We’ll do another giveaway, then, I guess. I mean, if I have to.

4f1740e33a623b13820c9352c5f78dd4

image via powells.com

Part one of the giveaway: a $34 USD e-giftcard to Powell’s Books! I’ve only been to the giant Powell’s flagship store in Portland once, but it was GREAT. There were LOTS OF BOOKS, as one might expect.

moby-tee-6_5f9a9a2c-0c92-456b-bb54-fbae5c47587c_1024x1024

image via litographs.com

Part two of the giveaway: a giftcard for one t-shirt from Litographs! (If you win and the site’s available sizes do not suit you, let me know and we’ll work something else out.) I don’t personally own any of their wares–yet–but rest assured, I am quite interested in several of their designs, like The Last Unicorn, for example. Yeah? Yeahhhh. It’s a very book-themed giveaway this time around, mostly because this is (half) my blog and I do what I want.

Your instructions, should you choose to enter the giveaway: leave a comment with a VALID EMAIL ADDRESS on this post and tell us about a) the worst book you ever read or b) your favorite book cover that would make a kickass t-shirt design. You can also do both, if you’d like to enter for both giveaways. (You can only win one, though. No fair sweeping both.) Entries will be accepted until 11:59PM PST a week from today–that’s Thursday, June 26th. The giveaway is open to everyone, domestic and international! The winners will be chosen at random and I’ll announce them the Friday after the giveaway closes; if you win, you will have 72 hours to respond to the email before a new winner is randomly selected, so be sure to check your spam folders just in case!

Okay, friends. Help me celebrate this wonderful day of Kuwaiti independence blog anniversary. Go forth and cloister yourself in a quiet space with a book and ignore all your worldly responsibilities! It’s what I would do.

28 thoughts on “Third Annual Blog Anniversary Giveaway Extravaganza!

  1. Rae says:

    Cool! I have wanted one of those shirts forever.
    Is it cheating to say the Hyperbole and a Half cover? Does Allie sell t-shirts? I’d wear ’em.

  2. I heard the word giveaway, I’m here for it!!! The worst book I ever read was a very well thought out mystery story set in a terribly undescribed world with an unlikable main character. I’m not sure why I finished it, mostly because I really really wanted it to be cool. One of the main characters at one point looked at the main character (who, like the reader, had *no idea what was going on*) and said, “You know, I could explain all of this to you, but you’re too dumb. So I won’t.”, thus leaving both the reader and the unlikable protagonist in the dark.

    it was fun.

    Buuuut I think this is super awesome and it’s very cool of you to do a giveaway, so i’m here! (does my wordpress account count or do i need to TELL you my email address)

  3. a. the worst book I have ever read was unplugged summer, I didn’t think this book would be amazing ,I thought it would just be a summer book to pass my time with, this book ended up having no plot and having a whiny teenager girl as the main character, later when I found out that it is actually a series(this was the first book) and there are actually 3 more books about this horrifying, disgusting romance store with this awful character, I was literally shocked.

    b. the fault in our stars would make the perfect tshirt! the white clouds with the light blue background would be adorable!!

    cookiesmasher5@yahoo.com

  4. The worst book I ever read? Well, the only book I ever threw across the room was Story of the Eye , which I read for a religion class in undergrad. (Technically, the class was Body/Sex in World Religious Literature.) I like a good erotic novel/fanfic as well as the next girl who reads a look of it, but this book is filthy without an engaging storyline and with a LOT of dubcon.
    libgirl9(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. I’m “blessed” with a bad memory for books, which means I can re-enjoy books I’ve already read and liked, and forget books I read and didn’t like. But one bad book I read recently, or actually heard on audiobook, was Tell No One by Harlan Coben. It had some completely unnecessary plot twists, especially at the very end. I’m also apparently the one person who disliked Catcher in the Rye. Luckily I read it so long ago that I can barely remember it now, so I can’t tell you why I didn’t like it! One of the only books I’ve ever started and not finished was Notes from Underground by Dostoevsky. I didn’t think it was a bad book, but it was too depressing to me, and it was taking too much of a toll on my emotional health. I was reading it at a time when I was struggling more with depression, and I eventually decided that I had to put it aside for my mental health.

    I’ve been wanting a litographs poster or shirt for a long time! So if I get picked, I’d prefer this one. 🙂 I’d like to see a Vonnegut design. It could just be the V with the bars through it that’s on most of the paperback versions of his books, or the doodle of his face that’s on A Man Without a Country (which is one of the few Vonnegut things I haven’t read).

    I left my email address in the login below.

  6. The worst book I ever read was a self-published supernatural romance novel with a were-hedgehog. It was called “Hedging his bets” and it. was. terrible. I’m normally all for were-romance, but the hedgehog kept changing hedgehog species, and there was lots of not-strictly-consensual sex happening that really angered me.
    I would love a shirt from the third Hitch hikers guide to the galaxy book. Or Harry Potter, but there’s tons of those.

    • Lemonadefish says:

      Omg, werehedgehog!! Now I want to find that book and read it – it’s not that I don’t believe you that it’s terrible, it’s just, werehedgehog…

      I hate most of the books everyone else here hates, but the worst has got to be some pulp scifi I picked up while abroad – it wasn’t any good, and I didn’t have anything else to read and I couldn’t understand the tv, so I had no choice but to finish it. No idea what it was called.

  7. Happy Blogiversary! 😀 I have poor book memory recall, so I’m not sure what the worst book I’ve ever read would be. I know there was one my book club chose that I thought was horrid, but kept reading anyway….usually I just quit reading if it’s horrid….and apparently it was so bad, I’ve put it out of my memory. Ha!

  8. Ashfa says:

    Hmm, there are a few books that I felt like flinging across the room. I’m going with Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. All my friends love this book but not me, this one was just useless!!

    Thanks for the giveaway!!
    blackcapballistics AT gmail DOT com

  9. Emily says:

    The worst book I ever read was Henry Tilney’s Diary by Amanda Grange, which is a retelling of Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey from the perspective of the main male character. The prose sounded very much like it was written by a woman; I definitely didn’t feel like I was reading Henry Tilney’s diary!

  10. Jessica says:

    The worst RECENT book I read (which I did not finish) was “Fire Dance” by Delle Jacobs. I love ridiculous romance novels, but this one set up some interesting historical/fantasy romance characters and then had to go with the whole “unwilling bride” thing! And after you’ve spent half the book telling me how the main male character is very honest and upright and better than all the other awful dudes, but they have to get married because Politics, I’m okay with that. But as soon as there’s nonconsensual sex I am DONE with your “romance” novel. Done with it.

    As for a good book cover to make a shirt out of: I’d love to see one of “Sunshine” by Robin McKinley, or the original mass market paperback cover of American Gods!

  11. rubylevine says:

    Probably the worst book I ever read was The Help. Real bad.

    There’s a really cool design on the front of the book Green Metropolis, and I would wear a shirt of it.

  12. wendyhatton says:

    The worst book I have every (tried) to read so far is The Fourth Fog. I really tried, picking up and putting it down numerous times before I had to admit it was not for me..at all.

  13. a) The worst book I’ve ever read is “ANTIGUA: The Land of Fairies, Wizards and Heroes” by Denise Ellis, worst dragon book ever written. I do not encourage this author’s writing career.
    b) My favorite book cover that would make a kickass t-shirt design is “Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Perish” by David Rakoff.

    Email: koukkunokka@anvianet.fi

  14. I have hated no book as much as I loathed “The Old Man and The Sea,” or as it is known to me, “A Book So Bad, I Can’t Remember If I Finished It.” Just thinking about it makes me thirsty. And not thirsty in a “Grapes of Wrath” way (which I was also forced to read, and loathed a little in spite of how much I appreciated it, that same sophomore year in high school), but thirsty in a “WHY DOES THIS BOOK EVEN EXIST I DON’T DRINK ALCOHOL YET BUT IF I DID I WOULD GET VERY DRUNK RIGHT NOW” way. Ahem.

    And since I seem to be stuck on a “Books of School” thing right now, “Where the Red Fern Grows” was the first book that ever made me cry, and I would wear the hell out of some typeset hounds every day.

  15. Hmm, this may be cheating slightly, but the worst books I ever had to read were the textbooks for my high school theology classes. They were lazy, poorly written, and didn’t actually cover much content, while also being intellectually demeaning. I didn’t like having to take those classes, but at that point I was even jealous of my brother’s religion classes, as they learned interesting things about art history, literature, and culture. (I went to an all girls school, he went to an all boys school — I feel like that explains everything.) And if that is cheating, I would say the worst book I’ve ever read was “A Prayer for Owen Meany” — which, come to think of it, was also for a high school theology class.

    The book cover that would make a kick-ass t-shirt design that first comes to my mind is the cover for the paperback edition of “Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.” (link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/259035.Jonathan_Strange_Mr_Norrell) It reminds me of a slightly spookier John Atkinson Grimshaw painting.

  16. yourpretendfriend (julie) says:

    one of the worst books I’ve read was On The Road for sure. Just some white dudes degrading women and being selfish. Also I would love the Handmaid’s Tale on a shirt. Or Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

