Outfit Post: 7/21/14

20140721-IMG_2261

Shirt: Target — Skirt and bangle: Thrifted — Sandals: Dansko — Earrings: Gift from Katie!

20140721-IMG_2267

More hints of red from Mia! I’m throwing so many curveballs at you guys.

20140721-IMG_2268

I just got some new nail polish in the mail (my friend Tito tipped me off to a Zoya sale over the 4th of July holiday), but before I dip into any of my exciting new colors, I decided to go back to geranium red.

20140721-IMG_2269

It’s a good, summery color, isn’t it? I’m going to The Toast’s one-year anniversary party tomorrow and I wanted to make sure my nails would go with the outfit I’ve been planning. (I’m sure I’ll be talking about that more on Thursday and gushing over how many amazing authors of Toast pieces I met.)

20140721-IMG_2271

Incidentally, talking about nail polish on Twitter led me to the understanding that a majority of my nail-polish-wearing friends redo their nails every 3-5 days, which is amazing to me! I only do my nails every once in a while, and when I do, I usually let that junk hang around for at least two weeks because I’m majorly lazy. For posterity’s sake: if you paint your nails, how often do you redo them?

4 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 7/21/14

  1. I only started wearing nail polish a couple years ago, and I try to spend at least as much time with bare nails as with painted because painting and stripping them all the time seems to make them less healthy. (I don’t really know why it matters to me if my fingernails look healthy, but it does.) But if I’m going to go to the trouble of painting them, I keep it on for a while. But I do a base coat, two coats of polish, and then a top coat, which keeps them looking better for a longer than when I just put one coat on. It’s usually about 10-12 days before they start looking so chipped and grown out that it bothers me, and it usually takes me a couple days to get around to taking off the polish. I leave it on my toenails a lot longer, maybe a month. BTW, that is a nice summery color on your nails, and it looks great with the skirt!

  2. This is a cute outfit ~ love the touches of red! I am a very occasional nail polisher. It doesn’t stay on well with all the time my hands are being washed and it bothers me when it is smudged or nicked, so it lasts about a day or two. I usually try to do something fancy with a design or something when I do paint them. On the plus side it keeps me from biting my nails for a few days.
    Looking forward to hearing about the Toast’s anniversary party 🙂

  3. My nails (and my grabby grabby hands) hate nail polish. Whenever I put it on, no matter how many directions I follow, or how many base coats/top coats, mine lasts about 1-2 days without chips. And then it looks like a wild boar has attacked my finger nails. But I love the look of nail polish! I would do the whole gel/shellac thing if they weren’t made out of death chemicals, but I’m just stuck admiring other people.

Leave a Reply

