Guest Post: Grungy-Woodsy

[Happy Friday, everyone! Here’s a guest post from my super-charming friend Anne. Go fall in love with her, quick! -Mia]

body photo

I wore this outfit on a very reasonably-temperatured but overcast Saturday in October. Some friends and I went to the arboretum and spent the day wandering around, sitting on blankets and generally being dirtbags.

flannel closeup

I’m wearing my favorite shorts that I cut to the perfect length (originally from Target), a Marc by Marc Jacobs blouse that I found at a thrift store and makes me feel fancy, my amazing green leather boots, and my sorority flannel from college. I love flannel because it’s both a Seattle grungy thing and a New England woodsy thing, and those are my birth home and my chosen home, respectively. Wearing something that looks too put-together makes me feel uncomfortable, and throwing a flannel on an outfit is like a security blanket.

face closeup

I ended up having the flannel buttoned almost the whole time and tucking the front part into the shorts, and it looked GREAT. My trusty glasses are Oliver Peoples and I’ve had them for four and a half years. I’m going to order the same frames from ebay when I finally decide to replace them.

boots closeup

These are the most expensive shoes I’ve ever owned and my cat, Fox, attacked the left boot the first day I got them, thus transforming them from Special Boots to Everyday Boots in one emotionally charged instant.

watch closeup

This watch is stainless steel faux rose gold and I love it.

ring closeup

A blurry but still precious photo of my little mouse ring from Etsy.

I used to be too self-conscious about my legs to wear shorts in public, but now I do it all the time. I’m happy I’ve been feeling good about my legs, because they really enjoy being freeeee!

Leave a Reply

