Guest Post: Spoon Handles and Schoolmarm Booties

[With another Friday upon us, I encourage you to read and rejoice in this guest post from the vibrant and amazing Anna. And then go read her delightful fanfic, if you’re so inclined! -Mia]

DSCN3845

I felt super cute in this outfit. The sweater tunic/dress I got at a shop on north Greenpoint Avenue, during a birthday shopping excursion with fashionable friends; the fleece-lined leggings (which are a marvelous invention) were $6 at Walgreen’s.

DSCN3844

I’m wearing brown argyle kneesocks–argyle has been my fave sock pattern since high school, when I used to buy handfuls of old man socks at the Goodwill where I worked. Most of those have developed holes over the past twenty years, and I have no clue how to darn, so I have to toss ’em.

DSCN3846

I asked for socks for Christmas, and my mom and my sister, without talking to each other, each got me the same pack of a half-dozen argyle kneesocks in various colors! So now I’m set.

DSCN3847

My pendant is a bent spoon handle–Exeter 1913 is the pattern. I got it at the Grassroots Art Museum in Lucas, KS; I don’t remember the name of the woman who made it, but I’m sure she’s never heard of Etsy.

DSCN3848

And the shoes! These are my wedding shoes. I can’t walk in thin heels, and I had no desire to trip walking down the aisle, so I got these schoolmarm booties instead. They’re Born brand, and I think they’re a half size too small, so I don’t wear them often.

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Spoon Handles and Schoolmarm Booties

  1. Oh my…Lucas, KS! Such a mecca for folk art. If you’ve never been, you should. It’s totally worth the drive. We have a lady at our church that makes spoon jewelry. She also makes glass art – from old vases, plates, jars, etc. I’ve got my eye on a blue plant stand for my front porch. She’s heard of Etsy from me, but doesn’t have the technology to use it. Which is, I’m sure, the case for many of the Crafty Seniors of Kansas.

Leave a Reply

