Fourth Annual Blog Anniversary Giveaway Extravaganza!

Obligatory exclamation where I express disbelief in the continual passage of time! Joke about an alternate holiday taking place on the same day as the anniversary! Question inviting readers to share in the joke?

Okay, meta sarcasm over. Traditionally, we here at Reading in Skirts do like to celebrate this blog’s birthday with a two-part giveaway: one half platypus book-oriented and the other Mars clothing-oriented. So, what can you win this time, hmm? Let’s find out.

635662615818269837-Acute-Reactions

Part one: remember when I based a Literary Stylings outfit on this delightful contemporary romance novel? If you haven’t already picked up your own copy since then, here’s your chance to read it! One winner will receive their choice of an ebook or physical copy of Ruby Lang’s Acute ReactionsI loved it! USA Today loved it! I bet you’ll love it too.

wired_gift_card

Part two: look, I like Etsy. You know I like Etsy. A good number of my long-time beloved accessories and other pieces came from awesome independent Etsy vendors like Carouselink and the Faerie Market. If you already use Etsy, you probably have a favorite shop, and if you don’t even know what Etsy is–well, welcome! This is the internet! How are you? The second winner will receive a $25 USD Etsy e-giftcard to be used at the shop of their choice. (Don’t buy anything culturally appropriative, okay? Do me this one favor if you win. Make me proud.)

Here’s all you have to do: leave a comment with a VALID EMAIL ADDRESS on this post and tell us about a) your favorite literary couple, or b) the last time you made something crafty. You can also do both, if you’d like to enter for both giveaways. (Mind that you’ll win one at most, though.) Entries will be accepted until 11:59PM PST on Monday, June 29th. The giveaway is open to everyone, domestic and international! The winners will be chosen at random and I’ll announce them the day after the giveaway closes; if you win, you’ve have 72 hours to respond to the email before a new winner is randomly selected, so be sure to check your spam folders!

That’s all I got for you right now, so scroll down to the comments and enter! Or don’t. Hey, it’s no skin off my nose either way, pal.

18 thoughts on “Fourth Annual Blog Anniversary Giveaway Extravaganza!

  1. I don’t actually want to enter (would feel like nepotism!), but CONGRATULATIONS and your questions are so great I’m gonna answer ’em anyway.

    a) I know we were recently talking about this, but it’s gotta be Ella and Char, right?

    b) I grafted an apple tree for my gardening class! (craft not graft, I know, but come on, grafting trees is pretty dang neat)

  2. juliectwitchell says:

    Wow wow wow my favorite literary couple is maybe Lupin and Tonks and the last crafty thing I made was an embroidered Tina Belcher quote and face that said “I’m no hero I put my bra on one boob at a time” !!!

  3. Rosalie says:

    My current favorite couple is Lark and Rosethorn from Circle of Magic.
    And last night I made a friendship bracelet with embroidery floss – classic!

  4. fourwindsharbour says:

    Does fixing up clothing count as a craft? I let out a hem on a skirt this week! Otherwise my most recent craft was a friendship bracelet, of course.

    My favorite literary couple is probably Anne & Gilbert<3<3 This question was harder to answer than I anticipated!

  5. tamara says:

    That books sounds really cute! I don’t know if I can name one favorite literary couple, but I’m going to go with Eleanor and Park because their story really touched me when I read it last year. : ]

    Congrats on four years! You are awesome!

  6. Oooh, fun! My favourite literary couple is probably Anne and Gilbert. ❤ And I worked on a friendie last week! (I already bought Acute Reactions, so if you pull me, pull someone else!)

  7. 1) Do the Gilbreths from “Cheaper by the Dozen” count? They should.

    2) I mend a pile of my clothes every month or two. Mending aside… … hmm. I knitted about 15 little scarves for a friend’s stuffed animals last Christmas.

  8. One favorite couple? Impossible…although I tried to convince my brother-in-law last night how awesome Jane Eyre was by over-dramatically telling him the whole story in about 5 minutes. Mr. Rochester is my main man, and all you people who like Wide Sargasso Sea can suck it. Or maybe just not talk to me about it. That’s good too.

    As for making something crafty…I haven’t really made anything since the last time I made shampoo. I’ve been a slacker since I’m busy with all the paperwork for getting MY NEW HOUSE BUILT!

  9. Aviendha/Elayne is my current couple fave, even though later WoT books kinda walk back the, ah, intimacy? of the first sisters bond but what does that guy even know, OBVIOUSLY WoT is about Queer Ladies Saving The Whole Hecking Universe And Being Happy.
    …I have half a book left and I STILL feel like this series will never end, ever.

    I am working on a circular shawl at present! it looks sad and wriggly on the needles but I believe in it and also the power of vigorous blocking.

  10. rachel cartucci says:

    I am currently making wet bags for cloth diapers. I have a wee one on the way and want to make a few little blankets for him too. Thanks.

  11. Favorite literary couple: so many from which to choose! The first that popped in my head were Jane Eyre and Mr Rochester (yes, even before reading comments). Jo and Prof Bhaer are right up there, too.

    Latest craft: I assisted my friend in making flower girl baskets for the wedding that didn’t happen. They still got married; just had to cancel the ceremony due to the fact her husband got called to duty. We used the flower girl baskets to decorate at their reception instead.

  12. Autumn says:

    I will forever love Scarlett and Rhett. As for crafty, I have a half-made dress on my sewing table that I’m hoping to finish tomorrow. It’s too hot here to do much of anything else.

  13. DianaH says:

    ooooh favorite literary couple. Alanna and George from Song of the Lioness? Levi and Cath from Fangirl? THIS IS DIFFICULT.

    I recently moved into a new place and was looking for a way to hang up some postcards, so I stuck glittery washi tape on clothespins and that was probably the laziest yet cutest thing I’ve made, ever.

  14. OhMyLanta says:

    Ooooh how fun!
    1) Harriet vane and Peter whimsey, with attolia & gen a close second.
    2) I just cut out a bunch of paper flowers to put on Xmas lights (for a work project that is shortly to turn into a personal project!)

    • OhMyLanta says:

      Lol Also, this is Lauren O! I completely forgot that o had an old WordPress account hooked up to my gmail.

Leave a Reply

