Tia and Mia Take a Look and Do It Together: Kathastrophal Edition

Whoops! It’s been quite some time since we did one of these and it’s all my fault. I was supposed to be on the look out and I just couldn’t find a damn thing I wanted to do. Then, Katha over at Kathastrophal posted this outfit and I knew Mia and I would be putting our spins on it because the outfit is so awesome. (Also, because Katha is the bomb diggety.)

In Katha’s post about this outfit, she talked about there being something missing. So hopefully, we’ll continue a cycle of inspiration! I’ll let Mia talk to you about my outfit, and then I’ll fawn over her. Also, I had some help with pictures because I was feeling shmancy, so, yay Braden!

Yo, my horse dogg maniacs, this is Mia! Tia’s pictures are all cool and stuff–use up all your excitement now ‘cuz my pictures are just kitchen pictures. Anyhow, I think one of the things that Tia and I both liked so much about Katha’s original outfit is the color combination; I know some people get all up into pattern mixing, but myself, I have an easier time with color mixing, and I loved Katha’s pretty solid colors. Tia’s version is pretty much spot-on!

Plus, she and Katha both have awesome scarves! I always forget about the collection of silk scarves in my closet, and that’s a dang shame. The colors of the scarf (and the outfit) go so well with Tia’s hair, donchathink?

Simple outfits can be so cute! I think that’s a good thing to remember, especially since I have a bad tendency to think that my outfits aren’t worth looking at if they aren’t complicated or fancy. Tia did add a few cute accessories, like a belt and pin, and I like them! They pull the black of her tights (and boots? I think Tia’s wearing boots) into the outfit well, which is good, since her headscarf doesn’t has as much black in the pattern as Katha’s does.

All in all, so cute. I’m glad Tia chose Katha’s outfit to reproduce. (You should check her blog out if you haven’t already! Katha’s, that is, not Tia’s. Being that you’re already here and all.) (Also, chiming in because I’m a nerd: PETTICOAT GUYS. I HAVE, AND WAS WEARING, A PETTICOAT.)

Oooh! I like what Mia did here: the same color combination: black, purple and teal/green, but changing around the order. I’m guessing this is the famous dress-with-the-back that she is constantly having to come up with creative ways to style, but I could be wrong. In any case, I like the choice of making the black dominant. I’m guessing it helped play down the brightness for the office jorb she has.

Also, fuzzy scarf! It looks so warm and toasty. I feel like there was a period where this particular type of yarn was super trendy(at least at the Michael’s I worked at), and it jazzes up the outfit in a very different way than the silk scarf idea. I feel warmer just looking at Mia.

This teal top is slaying me. I think it’s the perfect color, and the shape is really interesting. Also, I like how closely her flats match Katha’s: grey/black, interesting details across the toe. I think, to build on Mia’s comments about simple outfits, that working with a few things at a time can really help with building one’s fashion repertoire. Bold colors one day, bold accessories another: there’s no need to do it all at once, so just take it easy! I like this simplicity of this outfit with the bright colors, for suresies!

Eee, baby clips! I don’t know why these delight me so much whenever Mia wears them. Aren’t they just the most adorable little accent in her short hair? Also, the glasses chain creeping out of the scarf is so darling.

Next time on TMTLDIT: Mia’s choice of inspiration!

7 thoughts on “Tia and Mia Take a Look and Do It Together: Kathastrophal Edition

Leave a comment