Fashion, Books, and (Sometimes) Bikes

Outfit Post: 9/26/12

I like this outfit now, but while I was wearing it, it felt 100% wrong.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I feel gender is a fluid thing, that in particular, I sometimes I perceive myself as more dudely or lady-like. This was a strange case in which I wore pants and a top in such a way that my waist wasn’t as highlighted and felt like the outfit was more hipster!dude than my regular — and it drove me bonkers. The outfit read too male to me in my mind that day, when what I wanted was to be super femme. I’m not really sure how I got out of the house wearing this with as much protesting was going on in my mind, but all day long I felt like a stranger in my skin because of it.

Looking at this outfit 3 days later, there’s nothing wrong with it, and frankly, it’s not even that masculine. I love the vest, made by my mom, and think any other day, it would’ve read as perfectly femme. But it was an experience that I haven’t often dealt with, since most of the time the initial alarm bells would have set me into an outfit changing frenzy.

I don’t know how common that situation is. Have you ever worn clothes that left you feeling like an imposter, even though objectively there was nothing odd about what you were wearing?

 

 

 

Comments on: "Outfit Post: 9/26/12" (3)

  1. I wear colorful dresses every day a solid 7 months out of the year, but when the weather gets too chilly I have to switch to pants, which I HATE. I basically abandon fashion from November through March. The funny thing is, people who see me during the winter will say, “I didn’t even know you owned pants!” People I have known through several winters—family members, even—just totally forget that I wear pants. If only I could forget as well…

  2. Becky Shelley said:

    maybe because the girls weren’t on display you felt more dudely? Not sure but I love that you wore your green high tops ,The tie up nicely, but I think you could have draped the coordinating bow tie and really felt put together not tied mind you just casually draped around your neck ( a safety pin to secure it )and a fedora would have brought it all together!

  3. The vest colors are very pretty with your hair, and you look very curvacious and girly in your pics; I don’t read masculine at all. I’m curious as to whether you’ll wear it again? I know that even if I get a lot of compliments on an outfit that just feels awkward or not me that the odds of me wearing it again are pretty much zero.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

