Outfit Post: 11/17/11

Top: Goodwill (Iz) — Skirt: Super old (Kathy Lee Collection) — Tights: Target — Shoes: Goodwill (Target) — Bracelet: Gift — Necklace: Gift

Isn’t Kelsey of Charming Pumpin, well, charming? She graciously bestowed upon both me and Tia our first awards!

                     

Here are the rules:
Link back to the blogger you got the award from
Write 7 random things about yourself
Fill in the question form below
Give the award to 10 other blogs and let them know

 7 random things about me:
1. I can’t stand the feeling of corduroy; it makes my teeth itch and I feel like pulling out my fingernails, it’s just so unpleasant.
2. I find color names much more appealing if they involve food: pumpkin, cranberry, mustard, plum. Makes me want dinner!
3. I am a pretty big anime nerd, but I haven’t had much time to watch new series lately so I feel way behind the times. A couple shows I would recommend: Time of Eve (if you’re into robot-human interaction), Ebichu Minds the House (if you’re into a super-raunchy version of Hamtaro), or Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (if you’re into scary girl horror stories). Something for everyone!
4. If I crouch down or squat, I can place my feet flat on the ground, which, apparently, is something some people can’t do. Can you?
5. I am a die-hard picker: I pick at the skin around my fingernails, I pick at blemishes and zits and split ends, I pick at scabs and sunburns and anything that’s there to be picked. I’ve been trying to get better (especially about the zits), but it’s going to be a long time, if ever, before I truly stop picking for good.
6. I used to “collect languages”–through high school and college, I’ve taken classes in Spanish, Portuguese, German, and Middle Egyptian. I probably couldn’t carry a conversation on in any of them if you asked, but I’m still pretty good at reading Spanish, Portuguese, and some German. The Middle Egyptian, not so much.
7. I’ve never broken a bone. The worst accident I ever had was slamming my bare foot into an empty motherboard case while helping my dad move computer equipment the summer I was 12. I nearly cut my pinkie toe off and had to get stitches.

(It’s been a while since I made stupid faces on this site, right?)

Question Form:
Name your favorite song: Do I have to choose? This changes about every five minutes. I’ll give you a current selection: “Hymn 43” by Jethro Tull, “Louder” by Vermillion Lies, “Zak and Sara” by Ben Folds, and “Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity,” composed by Gustav Holst.
Name your favorite dessert: This particular chocolate rum cake that my mom used to get for birthdays in our house. It reminded her of the chocolate rum cake that her family used to get for birthdays from a local bakery when she was growing up in Berkeley.
What pisses you off: Smugness. I just want to punch smug people right in the face.
Your favorite pet:  Right now, my only pet is Flat Tire. I have to admit, though, I’m pretty fond of Toby, a little doggie I still think of as mine but who is now in Washington state with my mom. He’s so funny, I miss him.
Black or white: White, just to be contrary to what Kelsey picked.
Your biggest fear: This isn’t really an interesting, tangible fear like spiders or clowns; my fear is disappointing people. (It pairs well with my anxiety issues!)
Best feature: Um. My neck? I dunno.
Everyday attitude: Most of the time I’m pretty cheery and easygoing. Right now I’m grouchy and tired, but I’m also pretty good at fakin’ it for the people I work with.
What is perfection: So many things. Flat Tire’s tummy fur, a perfect softboiled egg, tasty soups (like the one I made which you can see down below), reading under a blanket, being ridiculous with friends and family, loving people who love you.
Guilty pleasure: America’s Next Top Model. So bad, which is why it’s so good. Plus, Allison Harvard from Cycle 12 is amazing!

Bloggers: I Pick You!

Now, I’m not going to say anybody has to do this, especially since it looks like a lot of the bloggers I like best have already been awarded this/these award/s. But I will list for all y’all some of my favorite bloggers and they can decide whether they want to do it or not. In no particular order:

Bright Side Dweller
Dressing Up For Life
Darling Autodidact
Jaunty Dame
Library Girl
Ruby Bastille
Timidly Confident
Interrobangs Anonymous
Delayed Missives
My (Not So) Style Blog

Laydeez, you are great! You brighten my Google Reader and make the day flash by. I’ve been terrible about doing the commenting rounds lately, for which I apologize. I hope after I return from Chicago, I’ll be a bit rested and better about all that!

Before Friday’s over, I just wanted to throw in a picture of soup for good measure. This was the product of oven-roasting all the vegetables I could find that were going to go bad (two acorn squash, one butternut squash, three bell peppers, six carrots, and a quarter-bag of Brussels sprouts), blending the veggies with some chicken stock and milk, and scarfing with some parmesan on top. Good stuff! Happy Friday, y’all, and the next time I come to blog ’round these parts I’ll be in the Windy City, with my favorite Windy Couple. See you on Monday!

11 thoughts on “Outfit Post: 11/17/11

  1. I am honored, but am running out of preferences to disclose. Pretty sure everyone knows everything about me now.

    When I was a teenager, my best friend had a fantastic Kathie Lee skirt she’d sometimes lend me; gray, knee-length, pleated. Then I moved across the country and found my own at a thrift store. Every once in awhile, mass marketing works to our advantage.

    Enjoy your trip to Chicago! I look forward to Epic Mia ‘n’ Tia photo-ops.

  2. What company to be listed in!

    The Rocket Scientist absolutely HATES corduroy, and I love it. It may be the rift that tears us apart. I also conjugate a mean Old English verb. We should get together and sound archaic.

  3. I just love argyle! And I envy your ability to wear vests with ease. For some reason I always feel really conspicuous in vests. I could never get comfortable in them so I gave them all away. May have something to do with sweater vests being part of my Catholic school uniform… shudder.

    I’m a picker, too! I’ve tried to stop, but I always scratch mosquito bites in my sleep… and then I scratch the scabs off again the next night 😦 I thought I collected languages, but wow, you’ve got way more and they’re way better than mine!

    Thanks for the blog awards! And this is really crazy, because I’ve been working on blog awards I got in February (yeah, total fail) and next week I’m going to award them to you… if I’d only done it sooner they’ve have been your first! Darn.

  4. Aww, thank you for putting lil’ old me on the list! I will definitely be doing this very soon. 😀

    (I’m a picker too… I have so many random scars that would have healed just fine if I could have left them alone!)

  5. I am the biggest dork, so I literally “awwed” at my computer here at work when I saw you put me on the list! Definitely doing that today…

    I, however LOVE corduroy. So soft and ridgy…ahh. Like wearing a blanket.

  6. rubybastille says:

    Ooh! Thank you for picking me! I never got over my Livejournal meme/quiz addiction and this will be way too much fun for me. 🙂

  7. Ok, I was just going to do this on my blog – one quick question though – is it one of the awards or both of them? I’m not always the brightest cookie in the package…

    • Mia says:

      Haha, no, I know. I think it’s both? The other bloggers don’t seem to be terribly specific, but from what I’ve seen it’s both, so go ahead with your bad self and take ’em. You deserve ’em!

  8. Aw, thank you so much! I might have to bow out, though, since I don’t think I *know* ten other bloggers to tag! Maybe I’ll just… post random stuff anyway? *eyes dart*

    That soup looks goooood. I keep buying pie pumpkins because they’re cute and vaguely pathetic, and then I have no idea how to use them. Maybe this last guy will become savory root-vegetable soup!

Leave a comment